THE WAEVE with GRAHAM COXON & ROSE ELINOR DOUGALL share new track ‘Over And Over’

Photo Credit: Steve Gullick

‘Over And Over’ is the fourth track to be released from the band’s hotly anticipated first studio album – out 3rd February 2023 on Transgressive Records – and follows ‘Kill Me Again’, ‘Can I Call You’ and ‘Drowning’.

The band will hit the road in March for a tour that will see The WAEVE visit Bristol, Manchester, Glasgow, Leeds, Sheffield, Nottingham and Brighton, as well as London’s Lafayette. The group will precede the full band live appearances with intimate, stripped-down appearances and signing sessions for Rough Trade in London, Bristol and Nottingham during the week of the album’s release. Later this summer, the band will perform at a selection of summer festivals, including Primavera Sound (full touring details are listed below).

Produced by The WAEVE and James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, Florence & The Machine, Foals, HAIM) and recorded in London earlier this year, ‘The WAEVE’ is a collection of 10 new tracks from songwriters Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall. Joining creative forces in The WAEVE gave the duo the opportunity to push past their instrumental comfort zones. Many tracks feature Graham on saxophone, one of the first instruments he played as a young musician back in the 80s. The first single ‘Can I Call You’ starts as a ballad then morphs into a krautrock-style motorik number with a sprawling Coxon guitar solo. ‘All Along’ features Graham on cittern, a medieval folk lute. Rose plays the piano and an ARP 2000 modular synth.

The heavy weather all over ‘The WAEVE’ recalls the blustery folk rock of Sandy Denny or John & Beverly Martyn, while tracks such as ‘Kill Me Again‘ and ‘Over and Over’ recall the 70s rock of Kevin Ayers or Van der Graaf Generator, almost industrial in places.

Listen to ‘Over And Over’ – BELOW:

The WAEVE – Album In stores 2023 (Stripped Down Set & Signing)

4 February – LONDON – Rough Trade East
6 February – BRISTOL – Rough Trade
7 February – NOTTINGHAM – Rough Trade

The WAEVE – UK Tour 2023

19 March – BRISTOL – Exchange
20 March – MANCHESTER – Band on The Wall
21 March – GLASGOW – Saint Luke’s
23 March – LEEDS – Brudenell Social Club
24 March – SHEFFIELD – The Foundry
25 March – NOTTINGHAM – Rescue Rooms
27 March – LONDON – Lafayette
28 March – BRIGHTON – Chalk

The WAEVE – EU Summer Festivals 2023

29 May-4 June – PRIMAVERA SOUND – Barcelona, Spain (Club Primavera)
13 July – VIELLES CHARRUES – France

Tickets are on sale at 10 am Friday 28th October. Tickets information here.

The WAEVE Album

The WAEVE Album Tracklisting:

1 Can I Call You
2 Kill Me Again
3 Over And Over
4 Sleepwalking
5 Drowning
6 Someone Up There
7 All Along
8 Undine
9 Alone And Free
10 You’re All I Want To Know

The WAEVE (pronounced “wave”) is a new project featuring the duo of Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall. A liquid meeting of musical minds and talents. A powerful elixir of cinematic British folk-rock, post-punk, organic songwriting and freefall jamming. The WAEVE strikes that magical English folk-rock alchemy of earth and ether. Heaviness and weightlessness. Darkness and light.

Graham Coxon is one of the acknowledged guitar heroes of his generation. His seminal contribution to Blur – as well as his nine solo albums since 1998, not to mention acclaimed soundtrack work – goes without saying. This autumn sees the publication of his autobiography, Verse, Chorus, Monster! on Faber and Faber. Rose Elinor Dougall is a singer-songwriter from London who has released three solo albums – the latest being A New Illusion (2019). She has also worked with Mark Ronson and Baxter Dury among others.


Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.