THE WAEVE with Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall share video for new track ‘Kill Me Again’

Photo Credit: Steve Gullick

‘Kill Me Again’, the new single from The WAEVE, composed of Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall, it is the third track to be released from the band’s first studio album and follows ‘Can I Call You’ and ‘Drowning’. It comes accompanied by a video directed by David J. East; watch below.

Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall said that ‘Kill Me Again’ “explores the feeling of non-being or the sensation of shape-shifting during intense pleasure, the battle of light to exist within the universe as it becomes increasingly influenced by dark forces. It’s a celebration of sexual agency and the power generated by the physical merging of entities, the power that brings into being and how it will overcome evil….”

Watch the video for ‘Kill Me Again’ - BELOW:

To mark the release of their upcoming album, out on 3rd February 2023 on Transgressive Records, the band will play a string of UK dates scheduled for March next year. The tour will see The WAEVE visit Bristol, Manchester, Glasgow, Leeds, Sheffield, Nottingham and Brighton, as well as London’s Lafayette.

Produced by The WAEVE and James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, Florence & The Machine, Foals, HAIM) and recorded in London earlier this year, ‘The WAEVE’ is a collection of 10 new tracks from songwriters Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall. Joining creative forces in The WAEVE gave the duo the opportunity to push past their instrumental comfort zones. Many tracks feature Graham on saxophone, one of the first instruments he played as a young musician back in the 80s.

The first single, ‘Can I Call You’ starts as a ballad and then morphs into a krautrock-style motorik number with a sprawling Coxon guitar solo. ‘All Along’ features Graham on cittern, a medieval folk lute. Rose plays piano and an ARP 2000 modular synth. The heavy weather all over ‘The WAEVE’ recalls the blustery folk rock of Sandy Denny or John & Beverly Martyn, while tracks such as ‘Kill Me Again‘ and ‘Over and Over’ recall the 70s rock of Kevin Ayers or Van der Graaf Generator, almost industrial in places.

The WAEVE - UK Tour 2023

19 March - BRISTOL - Exchange
20 March - MANCHESTER - Band on The Wall
21 March - GLASGOW - Saint Luke’s
23 March - LEEDS - Brudenell Social Club
24 March - SHEFFIELD - The Foundry
25 March - NOTTINGHAM - Rescue Rooms
27 March - LONDON - Lafayette
28 March - BRIGHTON - Chalk

Tickets are on sale at 10 am Friday, 28th October. Tickets information here.

The WAEVE Album Tracklisting:

1 Can I Call You
2 Kill Me Again
3 Over And Over
4 Sleepwalking
5 Drowning
6 Someone Up There
7 All Along
8 Undine
9 Alone And Free
10 You’re All I Want To Know


The WAEVE (pronounced “wave”) is a new project featuring the duo of Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall. A liquid meeting of musical minds and talents. A powerful elixir of cinematic British folk-rock, post-punk, organic songwriting and freefall jamming. The WAEVE strikes that magical English folk-rock alchemy of earth and ether. Heaviness and weightlessness. Darkness and light.

Graham Coxon is one of the acknowledged guitar heroes of his generation. His seminal contribution to Blur – as well as his nine solo albums since 1998, not to mention acclaimed soundtrack work – goes without saying. This autumn sees the publication of his autobiography, Verse, Chorus, Monster! on Faber and Faber. Rose Elinor Dougall is a singer-songwriter from London who has released three solo albums – the latest being A New Illusion (2019). She has also worked with Mark Ronson and Baxter Dury, among others.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.