Nic Cester releases the new video for Sur La Seine remix of ‘Who You Think You Are’ - Watch Now

JET Frontman NIC CESTER Shares Video for New Solo Track ‘EYES ON THE HORIZON’

Nic Cester releases the new video for Sur La Seine remix of ‘Who You Think You Are’. The album version of the track was already completely different from Nic Cester's past projects & this remix was the perfect opportunity to create something special. The process of re-working the song was done in between London (Fish Factory Studio) and Lake Como (Nic's home studio) produced by upcoming producer Sur La Seine and mastered by Giovanni Versari. The remix has been given a French Touch/Nu Disco effect with strong influences from Cassius & Justice.

Nic says; "I wanted to have one song that was musically as far removed from Jet as I could get – and this is where I arrived. It’s a mixture of dance with a little bit of disco/RNB, although the chorus is quite lush. Stylistically it’s a mix of the ‘60s, ‘70s and ‘80s in terms of instrumentation and technologies."

After selling 6 million records with the resurgent rock ‘n’ rollers Jet, Nic Cester released his debut album ‘Sugar Rush’ last year. ‘Sugar Rush’ is a confident step aside from anything the Australian singer-songwriter crafted with Jet. Produced by Jim Abbiss (Arctic Monkeys, Kasabian), the track was recorded during sessions at Officine Meccaniche in Milan and AIR Studios in London. Cester was backed by members of funk-fuelled soundtrack revivalists Calibro 35, who have been famously sampled by Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg (‘One Shot One Kill’) and Jay-Z (‘Picasso Baby’).

Check out the video for Sur La Seine remix of ‘Who You Think You Are’ - BELOW:

Spanning psychedelia energy, Latin-tinged rhythms and slow-burning deep cuts, ‘Sugar Rush’ is an album that lives up to Nic’s self-declared mission statement. “The goal was to challenge myself to find a new way to express myself musically” he adds. “I took myself way out of my comfort zone and took a lot of risks. The end result was well worth the journey. It’s definitely my best work to date."

The ‘Sugar Rush’ tracklisting is:

1. ‘Sugar Rush’

2. ‘Eyes on the Horizon’

3. ‘Psichebello’

4. ‘Hard Times’

5. ‘Strange Dreams’

6. ‘Who You Think You Are’

7. ‘On Top Of The World’

8. ‘God Knows’

9. ‘Not Fooling Anyone’

10. ‘Little Things’

11. ‘Neon Light’

12. ‘Walk On’

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.