MOGWAI announce special live performance premiere of new LP ‘AS THE LOVE CONTINUES’ on 13th February 2021

MOGWAI announce special live performance premiere of new LP 'AS THE LOVE CONTINUES' on 13th February 2021 1

Mogwai today announce a very special live performance premiere of their tenth studio album As The Love Continues, performed and recorded at Tramway in their hometown of Glasgow. The performance will be broadcast worldwide at 8 pm GMT, Saturday 13th February 2021.

Directed by the band’s long term collaborator Antony Crook, the broadcast will be the first opportunity to hear the new album in full alongside highlights from the band’s formidable back catalogue. Tickets are on sale now and available at

Watch a trailer for As The Love Continues at Tramway, Glasgow – BELOW:

As The Love Continues was recorded earlier this year with producer Dave Fridmann and features contributions from Atticus Ross (track 8 “Midnight Flit”) and Colin Stetson (track 9 “Pat Stains”). As The Love Continues will arrive 25 years on from the release of the band’s debut single “Tuner”/”Lower”.

As The Love Continues was originally planned to be recorded in America, but the pandemic led to a relocation to Worcestershire and with producer Dave Fridmann separated by an ocean, but appearing like an Orwellian oppressor. This pandemic necessity quickly became routine and also bought them a little more time.

Unable to perform the album, for the time being, Mogwai’s Stuart Braithwaite hopes the music can take you from somewhere different to where you are, “Unless you are somewhere really amazing and then why are you listening to some weird music like this?”

“Dry Fantasy” is the first single to be taken from the record, a celestial track centred around a reverberating synth repetition, which reaches a state of dreamlike grandeur as guitars and bass drift in and out of the track.

The track is accompanied by a video directed by Vaj.Power which draws interspersing images of blossoming flowers with the gnarled surfaces of a distant planet.

Watch “Dry Fantasy” – BELOW:

Mogwai have advanced without a plan since they were teenagers – there have been no secretive meetings to work out the masterplan. It is rare to hear a band that has been going for this long and have this many albums behind them – ten records in and still no disappointments or mistaken creative left turns.

You may know what to expect, but you will never get the same. Both transcendent and surprising, As The Love Continues shows that Mogwai are still offering solace from the mundane, supplying the soundtrack to whatever movie you are making in your head.

As The Love Continues

Mogwai – As The Love Continues album tracklisting

1. To The Bin My Friend, Tonight We Vacate Earth

2. Here We, Here We, Here We Go Forever

3. Dry Fantasy

4. Ritchie Sacramento

5. Drive The Nail

6. F*ck Off Money

7. Ceiling Granny

8. Midnight Flit

9. Pat Stains

10. Supposedly, We Were Nightmares

11. It’s What I Want To Do, Mum

As The Love Continues is the follow up to 2017’s Every Country’s Sun, Mogwai’s second Top 10 album in a row after 2014’s Rave Tapes. In-between the band released a career-spanning retrospective Central Belters and collaborated with filmmaker Mark Cousins to soundtrack his documentary Atomic. Earlier this year, they released the soundtrack to the Sky Original drama ZeroZeroZero, available for its first week exclusively on a pay-what-you-can (PWYC) basis via Bandcamp, with half of the proceeds going to Help Musicians and NHS charities.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.