Hotly-tipped post-punk, disco-funk phenomenon SQUID release new single ‘Match Bet’ – Listen Now

Hotly-tipped post-punk, disco-funk phenomenon SQUID release new single 'Match Bet' - Listen Now

The hotly-tipped post-punk, disco-funk phenomenon Squid are back with ‘Match Bet’, the second single from their forthcoming EP called ‘Town Centre’ which is being released digitally on 6 September and 15th November on vinyl via Dan Carey’s Speedy Wunderground label. ‘Town Centre’ is the first EP from the legendary singles label and is a perfect distillation of everything Squid have done so far, making good on the angular funk of ‘The Dial,’ the disco-punk of ‘Houseplants’ the ambitious songwriting of ‘Terrestrial Changeover Blues’ and through to their more ambient-leaning early work.

The propulsive, guitar-led ‘Match Bet’ was written at guitarist Anton Pearson’s parents house in Norfolk and spawned from an open tuning fingerpicking pattern that sparring partner Louis Borlase had been developing after being inspired by the Don Edwards track ‘Coyotes’ in Grizzly Man.

Ollie Judge on the new single: “Match Bet revolves around a character that lives within the same universe as The Cleaner. The song is told from the perspective of a Sonic Youth super fan living with mental illness, whom was a regular at a shop I used to work in. His harmless demeanour and manic, long conversations about gambling, his relationship with Her Majesty The Queen and love for Sonic Youth was extremely helpful for me in that period of my life. I found it interesting how his manic-ness opened me up a bit in a time where I could have quite easily just blended into the paintwork and kept quiet.”

Listen to ‘Match Bet’ – BELOW:

For ‘Town Centre’ the band once again team up with producer du jour Dan Carey and emerge with a powerful, intensely angular collection of songs that recall the finest corners of late 70s post-punk alongside a propulsive motorik drive and glimmers of early noughties disco whilst expertly making it all their own.

Squid have built their name on the back of a run of fine singles and their incendiary live shows which displays an energy and conviction that is positively transcendent in its chaos and fever. ‘Town Centre’ is the most complete body of work they’ve created yet and is not only an enthralling listen, but also serves as a compelling blueprint as to what they can achieve.

Formed in Brighton, Squid is the brainchild of Ollie Judge (Drums & Lead Vocals), Louis Borlase (Guitars & Vocals), Arthur Leadbetter (Keyboards), Laurie Nankivell (Bass & Brass) and Anton Pearson (Guitars & Vocals).

‘Town Centre’
1. Savage
2. Match Bet
3. The Cleaner
4. Rodeo

SQUID DATES

Thu 29 Aug – Into The Great Wide Open, Netherlands
Fr 30 Aug – Knee Deep, Cornwall, UK
Sat – Sun /31 – 1Aug – Sept – End of the Road 2019, Salisbury, UK
Fri 6 Sep – Krankenhaus Festival, Cumbria, UK
Thur 12 Sep – All Our Tomorrows, 100 Club, London
Fri 13 Sep – Leffingeleuren, Leffinge, Belgium
Sat 14 Sep – Hop Pop Hop, Orléans, France
Mon 16 Sep – Muziekodroom, Hasselt. Belgium
Tue 17 Sep – Roodkapje, Rotterdam, Netherlands
Wed – Sat / 18 – 21 Sep – Reeperbahn, Hamburg, Germany
Sat 12 Oct – Tenement Trail, Glasgow, UK
Sat 19 Oct – Future Days, Birmingham, UK
Sat 19 Oct – Simple Things, Bristol, UK
Sun 20 Oct – Swn Festival, Cardiff, UK
Mon 21 Oct – The Shipping Forecast, Liverpool, UK
Tue 22 Oct – Yes, Manchester, UK
Wed 23 Oct – The Picture House, Sheffield, UK
Thu 24 Oct – Elsehwere, Margate, UK
Fri 25 Oct – London Calling, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Sun 27 Oc Tunbridge Wells Forum, Tunbridge Wells, UK
Fri 1 Nov – Pitchfork Paris, Paris, France
Wed 6 Nov – Village Underground, London, UK with Warmduscher
Thur 7 Nov – Roundhouse, London, UK with Metronomy
Fri – Sat / 8 – 9 Nov – Primavera 20th Anniversary Weekender, Benidorm, Spain
Sun 10 Nov – Sonic City, Kortrijk, Belgium
Mon 11 Nov – 02 Academy Leeds, Leeds with Metronomy
Wed 13 Nov – SWG3, Glasgow with Metronomy
Sat 16 Nov – 02 Institute, Birmingham with Metronomy

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*