CATFISH AND THE BOTTLEMEN reveal ‘Fluctuate’ from anticipated, third album, ‘The Balance’ – Listen

CATFISH AND THE BOTTLEMEN reveal 'Longshot' their first new music in three years ahead of UK Arena Tour
© Jill Furmanovsky

The second track from Catfish and The Bottlemen’s forthcoming third album has emerged, with Fluctuate aired for the very first time by long-time supporter, Zane Lowe on his Beats 1 show tonight. An established live favourite despite remaining unreleased until now, the track has been made instantly available to fans via album pre-orders.

A further example of what lies ahead for fans awaiting new album, The Balance, released on Fri 26 April 2019 on Island Records, Fluctuate follows New Year single release, Longshot, which scored Catfish their highest UK singles chart placing to date and achieved over 2.3million streams in its first week alone. Together with a string of SOLD OUT arena dates, the wild reception to Catfish’s first new music since 2016’s gold-certified, The Ride, brings renewed attention to the phenomena of the band’s unassailable ascent in the company of a youthful, ever-growing family of fans.

First to hear Fluctuate was the army of 15,000 fans packed into Spillers Wharf, Newcastle for Catfish and The Bottlemen’s headline performance in May 2018, with the song reappearing during full-to-capacity, outdoor summer shows at Cardiff Castle and Glasgow’s Bellahouston Park, each time greeted by committed audiences singing every word. Fans able to grab tickets for imminent arena dates can expect to experience more tracks from The Balance ahead of its release.

Listen to ‘Fluctuate’ – BELOW:

“When I’m writing a new song, the audience is all I really see. I get a vision of them in my head before I properly hear the melody or anything like that,” explains front man, Van McCann. “If we put three or four of these songs in the set, it’s going to be so strong. This run of shows we have coming up is just perfect timing, getting the chance to play new songs that go hand in hand with a wild night out.”

The full list of confirmed Catfish and The Bottlemen UK, Ireland and European tour dates are

• Tue 19 Feb 2019 Nottingham, Motorpoint Arena – SOLD OUT
• Wed 20 Feb 2019 Plymouth, Pavilions – SOLD OUT
• Fri 22 Feb 2019 London, The SSE Arena, Wembley – SOLD OUT
• Sat 23 Feb 2019 Hull, Bonus Arena – SOLD OUT
• Tue 26 Feb 2019 Dublin, The Olympia Theatre – SOLD OUT
• Wed 27 Feb 2019 Belfast, Ulster Hall – SOLD OUT
• Sun 28 Apr 2019 Galway, Leisureland
• Tue 30 Apr 2019 Dublin, The Olympia Theatre – SOLD OUT
• Thu 2 May 2019 Brighton, Brighton Centre
• Sat 4 May 2019 Coventry, Ericsson Indoor Arena
• Sun 5 May 2019 Cardiff, Motorpoint Arena – SOLD OUT
• Tue 7 May 2019 Sheffield, FlyDSA Arena
• Wed 8 May 2019 Manchester, Manchester Arena
• Mon 13 May 2019 Madrid, La Riviera
• Tue 14 May 2019 Barcelona, Razzmatazz
• Thu 16 May 2019 Milan, Alcatraz
• Sat 18 May 2019 Berlin, Huxleys Neue Welt
• Mon 20 May 2019 Amsterdam, Melkweg

At the start of the year Catfish and The Bottlemen also announced their first return to the USA since their nationwide stadium jaunt with Green Day finished in the autumn of 2017, with a new, 15-date US tour opening in Indianapolis in mid-March.

In the breaks between their electrifying outdoor and festival shows, McCann (vocals, guitars), Johnny Bond (guitars), Robert ‘Bob’ Hall (drums) and Benji Blakeway (bass) recorded The Balance over a 12-month period in the company of Irish producer, Jacknife Lee. It was recorded in two, secluded studios; Grouse Lodge, in Moate, Republic of Ireland, and The Chapel in the countryside of East Lincolnshire. The album was mixed by Craig Silvey.

For further announcements on new music, live dates and to sign up for mailing list updates connect with Catfish and The Bottlemen at:





Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.