VAN MORRISON to release 43rd studio album ‘What’s It Gonna Take?’ on 13th May 2022

VAN MORRISON to release 43rd studio album ‘What’s It Gonna Take?’ on 13th May 2022
Van Morrison – new colour portrait © Bradley Quinn 2022

Van Morrison has announced details of his 43rd studio album. ‘What’s It Gonna Take?’ is released via Exile Productions/Virgin on May 13th 2022. “Pretending” - the first track taken from the album - is out now everywhere online (listen BELOW)

‘What’s It Gonna Take?’ is the follow up to Van Morrison’s 2021 release - the 28-track double album ‘Latest Record Project, Vol. 1’ - and is further evidence of the rich creative streak that one of the world’s greatest artist’s is currently on.

The new album features fifteen new Van Morrison compositions that collectively reflect the artist’s indefatigable drive to record and perform live in front of audiences. The album is preceded by Pretending - a gorgeous restless soul track, online everywhere now - was produced by Van Morrison and was recorded between Real World Studios (Wiltshire), Bath Spa Hotel (Bath), Richard Dunn’s Studio, Culloden Hotel (Co. Down) Holywood Studio (Co. Down) and Musicbox Studios (Cardiff).

What’s It Gonna Take? – album tracklisting;

1. Dangerous

2. What’s It Gonna Take?

3. Fighting Back Is The New Normal

4. Fodder For The Masses

5. Can’t Go On This Way

6. Sometimes It’s Just Blah Blah Blah

7. Money From America

8. Not Seeking Approval

9. Damage And Recovery

10. Nervous Breakdown

11. Absolutely Positively The Most

12. I Ain’t No Celebrity

13. Stage Name

14. Fear And Self-Loathing In Las Vegas

15. Pretending

Van Morrison plays a series of previously announced dates this spring;

March 29th WiZink Centre, Madrid, Spain (rescheduled show)

March 31st Coliseum A Coruña, A Coruña, Spain (rescheduled show)

April 4th/5th Theatre Royal Drury Lane, London, UK

Van Morrison is one of music’s true originals - utterly unique and inspirational with a legacy that spans the last seven decades. Born in Belfast in 1945 and inspired by blues, country and gospel, he formed the hugely successful R&B band Them in 1964 before moving on to a different realm as a solo artist. One of the most prolific recording artists and hardest working live performers of his era, Van Morrison has crafted an unparalleled catalogue of releases that moves effortlessly through his myriad influences, including visionary street poetry, jazz, swing, skiffle and Celtic roots and includes some of the best-loved songs of the 20th century. He has also managed to maintain a work ethic both on stage and in the studio that would shame younger artists. ‘What’s It Gonna Take?’ is Van Morrison’s 43rd studio album.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.