U2 announce limited edition 4-track EP exclusively for Record Store Day


U2 announce the release of ‘Two Hearts Beat As One / Sunday Bloody Sunday’, a limited edition, 4-track EP, celebrating the 40th anniversary of U2’s third studio album ‘War’ (1983), exclusively for Record Store Day, 22nd April 2023.

The EP features two original studio tracks, both released as singles in 1983, and two reimagined versions from the forthcoming 2023 U2 album ‘Songs Of Surrender’, on limited edition, 180g heavyweight white vinyl, plus exclusive poster with an illustration by Bono.

The two tracks ‘Two Hearts Beat As One’ and ‘Sunday Bloody Sunday’ were originally released as singles on 21st March 1983, each in different regions globally, as the second single from band’s acclaimed third studio album ‘War’. Released on 28th February 1983 ‘War’ knocked Michael Jackson’s ‘Thriller’ off the top spot to become the band’s first UK #1 album, as well as reaching #12 on the US Billboard Top 200 charts to be certified gold.

‘Songs Of Surrender’ – a collection of 40 seminal U2 songs from across the band’s catalogue, re-recorded and re-imagined for 2023 in sessions spanning the last two years, will be released in full on Friday 17th March. Curated and produced by The Edge, ‘Songs Of Surrender’ sees the band revisit some of the most celebrated songs of their 40+ year career, including ‘With Or Without You’, ‘One’, ‘Beautiful Day’, ‘Sunday Bloody Sunday’ and ‘Invisible’, for a musical reimagining resulting in a completely new recording of each track, to include the arrangements and, in some cases, new lyrics.

‘Two Hearts Beat As One / Sunday Bloody Sunday’
Format Information:

12” EP Info:
• 4 track 12” EP, cut at 45 rpm
• 180g white vinyl, housed in plain white polylined inners
• Single sleeve outer
• Features exclusive 600x600m poster on gloss art paper


1. Two Hearts Beat As One (War Mix)
2. Sunday Bloody Sunday (War Mix)

1. Two Hearts Beat As One (Songs of Surrender Mix)
2. Sunday Bloody Sunday (Songs of Surrender Mix)

‘Two Hearts Beat As One / Sunday Bloody Sunday’ is available exclusively at participating independent record stores on Saturday 22nd April 2022.


Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.