POLIÇA Announce new double A-side 7” "Lipstick Stains" / "Still Counts" for Record Store Day

POLIÇA Announce new double A-side 7” "Lipstick Stains" / "Still Counts" for Record Store Day

POLIÇA are set to release a brand new double A-side 7” - “Lipstick Stains" / "Still Counts” - for Record Store Day 2017. Issued through Memphis Industries, “Still Counts” premiered on Lauren Laverne’s BBC 6 Music show this morning.

The new single sees POLIÇA collaborating with longtime friends Boys Noize and Spank Rock. Boys Noize provides additional production on the languid, melancholic “Lipstick Stains”; while Spank Rock adds guest vocals to the corrosive electro-punk of “Still Counts” which came about during a late-night studio session when Spank Rock was on tour in Minneapolis.

POLIÇA’s vocalist Channy Leaneagh: "Spank Rock is a rare lyrical gem and true musical artist of the damn finest quality. Naeem is one of my favorite people and artists and I'm sincerely honored to have made something with him."

Since the release of their breakthrough debut album Give You The Ghost in 2012, POLIÇA have pushed and pulled against expectations with albums tackling female emancipation (2013’s Shulamith) and urban decay (2016’s United Crushers). Aside from their recorded output POLIÇA have forged an unbeatable reputation as a live force selling out The Troxy and Roundhouse in London and gracing the stages of Glastonbury, Coachella and Lollapalooza.

POLIÇA are vocalist Channy Leaneagh, dual drummers Drew Christopherson and Ben Ivascu, bassist Chris Bierden and producer Ryan Olson. POLIÇA are confirmed to play the following shows, which include two dates with New Order:

18 April - Santa Barbara Bowl - Santa Barbara, CA *
19 April - Teragram Ballroom - Los Angeles, CA +
21 April - Greek Theatre (early show) - Berkeley, CA *
21 April - Cornerstone (late show) - Berkeley, CA
11 May - Upstream Music Fest - Seattle, WA
16 June - Eaux Claires – Eau Claire, WI
28 June - Wayhome Music & Arts - Toronto, ON

* w/ New Order
+ w/ Dizzy Fae, Zack Villeres (Froyo Ma)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.