TRACK OF THE DAY: The Idle Silence - Chew It Over

TRACK OF THE DAY: The Idle Silence - Chew It Over

A chugging punk-pop nugget described as "a bit of bubblegum pop about an everyday domestic", 'Chew It Over' is an infectious little track. The Idle Silence are a four piece band from Taunton who play "indie-noisy-pop music redolent of the music scene of the 90s". The band are James Haldane on vocals and guitar, Martyn Edwards on drums, Phil Russell on vocals and guitar, and Jay Parr on bass.

Martyn Edwards is a former member of Lewinski, who once supported Funeral For a Friend and received airplay from Radio 1. James Haldane played in a band called So Human who gigged around Bristol, and is also one half of an act called Peaki and The Ram. Phil Russell made music under the alias Debt Collector for many years and had an album put out on Best Kept Secret, which was an Italian cassettes-only label. Jay Parr only began playing bass just over two years ago and learned the ropes in a covers band.

According to Haldane, "future recordings include songs about depression, liars, pessimism, Buddhism, discontentment and mistrust. But they're catchy!"

Backed by the B side 'Behind A Smile', the track is available to download now on Bandcamp - Listen  BELOW:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.