TOM MEIGHAN shares the video for ‘Don’t Give In’

Tom Meighan
Credit: George Stephens

Released last month, Tom Meighan’s first solo album, The Reckoning, hit the Official midweek chart at #2, behind Ed Sheeran. It charted at #2 in the Indie chart, #3 in the Vinyl chart, #3 in the Download chart, #3 in the Physical Artist chart and #6 in the CD chart. Today he shares the video for the album track Don’t Give In.

Twenty years ago, at the age of 21, Tom Meighan signed his first record deal with Kasabian. He went on to sell four million albums, celebrate 5 consecutive number-one albums and was awarded, amongst many others, a BRIT Award, 7 NME Awards, 5 Q Magazine Awards, a Mojo Award and a Music Week Award. He headlined Glastonbury, V Festival and Reading and Leeds twice, along with most other major European music festivals. He toured the world relentlessly.

In 2020, Tom suffered a breakdown. The fallout of which he is still acutely aware of today. He embarked on an intense recovery program, during which he wrote his first solo album, The Reckoning. Addiction, remorse, recovery and redemption are themes that run deep. In addition to the rock power and bulletproof bangers of his former band, you’ll hear a blissed-out euphoria, a tenderness and a lyrical depth resulting from a period of self-reflection and emotional maturity.

Whatever the reasons he didn’t contribute to the songwriting in Kasabian, it wasn’t down to a lack of talent. The confidence and ability to sing an earworm with passion and charm remain in Tom’s new songs. Ahead of the album release, Tom shared four tracks from the album – title song The Reckoning, Everyone’s Addicted To Something, Movin’ On and Shout It Out.

Watch the video for ‘Don’t Give In’ – BELOW:

A born frontman with an unmatched ability to get a crowd jumping, Tom finished a packed-out UK tour in April. One of his earliest solo tracks, Would You Mind, which features on the deluxe album, proved to be a favourite with fans. He is currently performing at a string of festivals and will support Noel Gallagher at Audley End on 5th August.

Joining Tom in his band are keyboardist/guitarist Bnann Infadel, bassist Ele Lucas, lead guitarist Chris Haddon, guitarist Brodie Maguire and drummer Gareth Young.

1. Rise
2. Deep Dive
3. Daytona Racing
4. Shout It Out
5. Don’t Give In
6. Scared
7. Acrobat
8. Thinking On Our Feet
9. Better In The Dark
10. Everyone’s Addicted To Something
11. Moving On
12. The Reckoning


1st July – Nibley Festival – Cotswolds

8th July – Askern Festival – Doncaster

5th August – Audley End supporting Noel Gallagher

INTERVIEW: Tom Meighan discusses his first solo album, ‘The Reckoning’ and more – Listen here.


Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.