THE WOOD BURNING SAVAGES Share New Video ‘I Don’t Know Why I Do It To Myself’

THE WOOD BURNING SAVAGES Share New Video 'I Don't Know Why I Do It To Myself'

The Wood Burning Savages are a fast-paced punk rock band from Derry City, Northern Ireland. Proudly wearing the rebel spirit of their hometown on their sleeves, with pulsating riffs and a sharp political edge, they are often compared to Manic Street Preachers, Future of The Left and Queens of the Stone Age.

The track is taken from their forthcoming album ‘Stability’, released on April 27th. Produced by Rocky O’Reilly (Touts, Cassels, exMagician) in Start Together Studios, Belfast, and mastered by Robin Schmidt (Wolf Alice, The 1975, Jake Bugg), the album is described by frontman and singer Paul Connolly as “a collection of songs about a working class furious at years of empty promises”.

Today they release their new single ‘I Don’t Know Why I Do It To Myself’. Check out the video – filmed entirely in one take – BELOW:

The full album track-listing is:

1. Stability
2. We Love You
3. Rat Race
4. I Don’t Know Why I Do It to Myself
5. Purple Heart
6. Lusitania
7. Living Hell
8. Sisters of Mercy
9. Lather, Rinse, Repeat
10. Thoughts of You
11. Freedom of Movement

The band has been lauded for their frenetic live shows, each night serving up a full-blooded cocktail of breakneck guitars and frenzied anthems. With each track The Wood Burning Savages share gritty real life tales of disillusion and indignation, giving a voice to a generation more marginalised and divided than ever before.

Having played the BBC Introducing tent at Glastonbury, the band went on to play riotous sets at festivals throughout Ireland and beyond, performing in Scotland, Poland and Germany. They were selected by Dublin’s Whelan’s to play their yearly One’s To Watch 2018 festival, and were hand-picked by Death From Above to support them in Dublin last month.

Their music has even been embraced by the world of wrestling with Philadelphia grappler ‘The Product’ David Starr selecting ‘We Love You’ as his entrance theme!

Catch The Wood Burning Savages live:

Saturday 21st April – Nerve Centre, Derry *Hometown show
Sat 28th April – Whelans, Dublin
Friday 4th May – 81 Renshaw St, Liverpool
Saturday 5th May – The Castle Hotel, Manchester
Sunday 27th May – Limelight 2, Belfast *Stability Album Launch
Friday 1st June – Holywood, Co. Down * Supporting Boomtown Rats

‘Stability’ is released on April 27th, 2018. Pre-order it here:

The Wood Burning Savages are: Paul Connolly (Vox & Guitar), Dan Acheson (Bass), Michael Woods (Guitar) & Elliot Finlay (Drums)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.