THE PIGEON DETECTIVES – Unveil ‘Sounding the Alarm’ from new album ‘Broken Glances’ + UK tour

THE PIGEON DETECTIVES - Unveil 'Sounding the Alarm' from new album 'Broken Glances' + UK tour

Formed in 2002 The Pigeon Detectives are Matt Bowman on lead vocals, Oliver Main and Ryan Wilson on guitars, Dave Best on Bass, and Jimmi Naylor on drums. Friends from school and having known one another since they were 12, the band enjoyed a meteoric rise starting in Leeds where they signed with local label Dance to the radio, going on to sell over half a million records of their debut album ‘Wait for Me’.

‘Sounding the Alarm’ is a song that contradicts the bluster energy in the band’s previous material with a subtle almost-whispered vocal floating over a pulsating synth and sparse electronic beat, echoing a ‘Get Ready’-era New Order. The song is a perfect example of how the band’s new material challenged their previous approach to studio records. The track features layers of synth lines building towards an epic coda of driving guitars behind the chorus line ‘All along you were sounding the alarm’.

5th Album ‘Broken Glances’ follows platinum-selling debut record ‘Wait for Me’, gold selling ‘Emergency’, third record ‘Up guards and at em!’ (all released on renowned Leeds label Dance to the Radio), and ‘We met at Sea’ (released through Cooking Vinyl Records). As with previous albums ‘Broken Glances’ is accompanied by a UK tour (and European tour to follow), with the band’s fans able to catch them live at Festivals in 2017 following the album’s release on 24 February.

Tour: March 2017

2 Mar: Whelan’s, Dublin
3 Mar: Limelight 2, Belfast
4 Mar: Electric Circus, Edinburgh
5 Mar: Stereo, Glasgow
7 Mar: The Leadmill, Sheffield
8 Mar: O2 Institute 2, Birmingham
9 Mar: Rescue Rooms, Nottingham
10 Mar: Sugarmill, Stoke
11 Mar: Gorilla, Manchester
13 Mar: Thekla, Bristol
14 Mar: Wedgewood Rooms, Portsmouth
15 Mar: Electric Ballroom, London
29 April: Live at Leeds

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.