TAME IMPALA – Announce Album Details- Release New Track

TAME IMPALA: First Official Single "'Cause I'm A Man" Shared TODAY! - Listen 3

TAME IMPALA have announced their highly anticipated third studio LP Currents will be released worldwide Friday July 17th. The 13 track album is available to pre-order today offering “Let It Happen”, “Cause I’m A Man” and two brand new tracks “Eventually” and “Disciples” as instant grat tracks with the album pre-order.

Fans went into an online frenzy last week when Kevin Parker dropped another new song “Disciples” during a Reddit.com fan Q & A. “I’m waiting for someone to ask me if they can hear a new song…!” announced Kevin, and in minutes the 1.48 min track became one of the hottest topics on social media.

Currents was written, recorded, produced and mixed by Kevin Parker in Fremantle, West Australia. Lyrically the record finds Parker in a very different place in 2015 to where he was seven years ago. Transitions in life, relationships, perspectives, mindsets – Currents maps Parker’s evolution through these and finds him a brand new person.

Musically, Currents sounds like the work of a player on top of his game and having a blast, Parker indulging his whims and unafraid to dive down the rabbit hole after an idea. Again operating as a one man studio band, Parker’s resultant record calls to mind contemporary hip hop production, Thriller, fried 70s funk, the irreverent playground Daft Punk presented on Discovery, swathes of future pop and emotional 80s balladry, all filtered through a thoroughly modern psychedelic third eye. A genre-bending soundscape fueled equally by curiosity as it is consciousness; it’s an exhilarating new territory for Tame Impala.

Typically, initial Tame Impala recordings saw Parker’s vocal hidden beneath a layer of psychedelic fuzz, drenched in reverb, lyrics ambiguous. Currents find’s Kevin Parker’s voice front and centre, so no bones are made about his intent.

CURRENTS TRACK LISTING

1. Let It Happen
2. Nangs
3. The Moment
4. Yes I’m Changing
5. Eventually
6. Gossip
7.The Less I know The Better
8. Past Life
9. Disciples
10. Cause I’m A Man
11. Reality In Motion
12. Love/Paranoia
13. New Person, Same Old Mistakes

TAME IMPALA TOUR DATES

Fri May 8 – Levitation Fest – Austin, TX
Sat May 9 – Civic Theatre, New Orleans, LA – SOLD OUT
Sun May 10 – Shaky Knees Festival – Atlanta, GA
Mon May 11 – Ryman Auditorium – Nashville, TN – SOLD OUT
Wed May 13 – First Avenue – Minneapolis, MN – SOLD OUT
Thurs May 14 – Riverside Theater – Milwaukee, WI
Fri May 15 – Riviera Theatre – Chicago, IL – SOLD OUT
Sat May 16 – The LC Pavilion – Columbus, OH
Mon May 18 – Royal Oak Music Theatre – Royal Oak, MI
Tues May 19 – Massey Hall – Toronto, ON – SOLD OUT
Wed May 20 – Metropolis – Montreal, QC – SOLD OUT
Thurs May 21 – Metropolis – Montreal, QC – SOLD OUT
Fri May 22 – Boston Calling Festival – Boston, MA
Mon May 25 – Sasquatch! Festival – George, WA
Tues May 26 – Malkin Bowl – Vancouver, BC – SOLD OUT
Wed May 27 – Roseland Theater – Portland, OR – SOLD OUT
Fri May 29 – The Depot – Salt Lake City, UT
Sat May 30 – Ogden Theatre – Denver, CO – SOLD OUT
Sun May 31 – Uptown Theater – Kansas City, MS
Mon Jun 1 – The Pageant – St. Louis, MS
Wed Jun 3 – Stage AE – Pittsburgh, PA
Thurs Jun 4 – House Of Blues – Cleveland, OH
Fri Jun 5 – Bunbury Music Festival – Cincinnati, OH
Fri Jun 7 – Governor’s Ball Festival – NYC, NY
Sat Jun 6 – Echostage – Washington D.C
Fri Jul 24 – Splendour In The Grass – Byron Bay, Australia
Fri Jul 31 – Lollapalooza – Chicago, IL
Fri Aug 7 – Outside Lands Festival – San Francisco, CA
Thurs Aug 20 – Paredes de Coura – Viana Do Castelo, Portugal
Fri Aug 21 – Lowlands Festival – Biddinghuizen, Netherlands
Tue Aug 25 – Mojotic – Sestri Levante, Italy
Wed Aug 26 – Rock In Roma – Rome, Italy
Fri Aug 28 – Teatro Romano – Verona, Italy
Sat Aug 29 – Zurich Openair Festival – Zurich, Switzerland
Sun Aug 30 – Rock En Seine – Paris, France
Sat Sep 5 – End of the Road Festival – Gardenstown, UK
Sun Sep 6 – Electric Picnic – Dublin, Ireland
Tues Sep 8 – Barrowland – Glasgow, Scotland
Wed Sep 9 – Olympia – Liverpool, UK
Thurs Sep 10 – Bestival – Isle of Wight, UK
Sat Sep 12 – Lollapalooza – Berlin, Germany
Fri Oct 2 – Austin City Limits – Austin, TX
Fri Oct 9 – Austin City Limits – Austin, TX

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*