SPECTOR share new single ‘When Did We Get So Normal?’

SPECTOR share new single 'When Did We Get So Normal?' 1

Spector have shared new single ‘When Did We Get So Normal?’ ‘When Did We Get So Normal?’ is the fourth and final track to be taken from their ‘Extended Play’ EP. It will be released physically as part of their ‘Non-Fiction’ compilation on 29 April via the band’s own Moth Noise Entertainment.

Although it was written and recorded before the global crisis, current circumstances add a new layer to its lyrics. It’s also another seamless showcase of Spector’s new direction on their recent releases.

Speaking about the single, frontman Fred Macpherson said: “In such abnormal times it feels strange to be releasing a song called When Did We Get So Normal. We wrote it back when everything in life was starting to feel a little too repetitive and routine, which feels a long time ago now. It’s inspired by the pathos of spending too much time with the same people, getting bored of seeing, hearing and eating the same things as everyone else, looking in the mirror and realising your life is no longer the adventure it once felt like.

I guess we’re all in the same boat now though. Even the sexy interesting people are staying in watching TV and waiting for packages, so maybe it’s a good soundtrack to the new normality. I’ll never complain about Cornwall again.”

Listen to ‘When Did We Get So Normal?’ – BELOW:

Non-Fiction is a compilation of the band’s last three EP’s, released between 2017 and 2019, including the live favourites ‘I Won’t Wait’, ‘Untitled In D’, ‘Fine Not Fine’ and more.

Non-Fiction is the latest release in an illustrious career for the London-based five-piece, with two critically acclaimed albums Enjoy It While It Lasts (2012) and Moth Boys (2015) under their belts, which in turn built a culture around the group and accrued a fiercely loyal fan base, making Spector one of Britain’s most-loved alternative outfits.

This compilation is not only an encapsulation of the last three years but an exciting indicator of what’s to come in 2020 and beyond, as the band continue to develop their sound and catalogue.

Non-Fiction will be released physically on 29th April and features optic artwork from acclaimed designer Matt de Jong. Its limited initial run of neon green vinyl is available to pre-order here.



1. Untitled in D
2. Fine Not Fine
3. Local International
4. Wild Guess
5. Even When You Pass My Way
6. Love Will Do Your Head Right In
7. Tenner
8. Zone Two
9. Half Life
10. I Won’t Wait
11. Simplicity
12. When Did We Get So Normal?
13. Bryndon 2 (Vinyl Exclusive)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.