SHOTTY HORROH Releases New Single ‘Frank & Stein’ – Listen Now

INTERVIEW: Shotty Horroh discusses his debut album, 'Salt of The Earth'

Shotty Horroh announces the release of a brand new single, ‘Frank & Stein,’ now available on all DSPs. The track, written and recorded in Toronto, Canada, is “one of my favourite songs [from the album] to perform. As soon as I hear that acoustic guitar I get chills, I know we are about to tear it down!” recalls Shotty Horroh. ‘Frank & Stein’ is the third song off of his highly anticipated forthcoming debut album, Salt of the Earth, which will be released on October 12 via Sony Music Entertainment Canada Inc.

On Salt of the Earth, Shotty Horroh, born Adam Rooney, arrives like the fire-breathing love child of Liam Gallagher, Alex Turner and Sid Vicious: spilling the true blood of Manchester’s council estates, snarling at a system built to hold him down atop crunchy, melodic riffs; it’s the sound of a nation — indeed, a world — in crisis, told by its prodigal son.

When a guitar broke out one night in practice, the kernels of the album, Salt of The Earth, began to pop, and what emerged was the sound of Shotty Horroh’s musical roots. On songs such as ‘Shudehill,’ ‘Alien’ and ‘Dirty Old Town,’ Horroh digs deep into the reality and rubbish of modern life: at times passionate, aggressive and intense, others heartbreaking and tender. Salt of The Earth was produced by Shotty Horroh, Patrick “P” McKenzie and Jules Lynch at PMCK Studios & OnlyReal Entertainment in Toronto, it was mixed by engineer Patrick “P” Mckenzie with assistance by Brendon “Stretch” McDonald in Toronto, and mastered by Tim Young at Metropolis Mastering in the UK.

Listen to ‘Frank & Stein’ – BELOW:

“Back home, rock and roll’s always been working class music. As a Mancunian, that sound just resonates more than anything else” he says. “This is the first time in my career I’m showing people Adam. For years I became Shotty Horroh for safety. Salt of the Earth is stories about Adam. And that’s how it’ll be from now till the end of time.”

The first single, ‘Shudehill,’ came out with a bang, amassing over 185K YouTube views in only a few short weeks. The video showcases Shotty’s rhythmic cadence paired with moody imagery of his hometown of Manchester, United Kingdom. Watch here.

On Spotify, ‘Shudehill’ was featured on the Trending Now, Viral Hits Canada and Canada Viral 50 playlists, as well on Apple Music’s Best of The Week playlist, upon release. His follow-up track, ‘Dirty Old Town,’ continued momentum for the album into the summer, which was released in tandem with a captivating visual. Watch here.

This summer Shotty Horroh has performed across the city of Toronto including an opening slot for Wiz Khalifa and Rae Sremmurd’s Dazed & Blazed Tour as well as Toronto’s Festival of Beer at Exhibition Place. Fans can check out the energetic show on September 19 at Reeperbahn Festival in Hamburg, Germany and in Canada on September 26 at Petit Campus in Montréal, QC supporting Saint Sister. Keep checking back as more shows to be added here. In addition to the live show, fans can catch Shotty on the big screen as he makes his acting debut in the film Vs., ‘a sharp-tongued drama starring Connor Swindells as a troubled teenager trying to make rhyme pay.’ Vs. will premiere at the BFI London Film Festival on October 13. Details can be found here.

Salt of The Earth tracklist:

1. Dynamite
2. Frank & Stein
3. Shudehill
4. Dirty Old Town
5. Lanyards
6. Alien
7. Danger
8. Absence Of Heart
9. Stay For The Ride
10. Wish You Well

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.