SHONEN KNIFE – celebrate 35th Anniversary with UK & Eire 2016 tour announcement

SHONEN KNIFE - celebrate 35th Anniversary with UK & Eire 2016 tour announcement

Shonen Knife celebrate their 35th Anniversary with their most extensive UK & Ireland Tour to date in 2016. A new album is due for release just before the tour on Damnably. Shonen Knife, the All-Female Pop-Punk-Rock Pioneers from Osaka, Japan celebrate their 35th Anniversary and (as yet untitled) new album with their most extensive UK & Eire tour to date, brought to you by Damnably.

The trio formed in Osaka in 1981, when Naoko Yamana first heard late ‘70’s punk-pop, particularly The Ramones. Inspired, the band crafted their own idiosyncratic songs, fashioned brightly coloured outfits and DIY albums. In 1985, K Records released ‘Burning Farm’ in the United States. Deals with Sub Pop and various majors followed.
They toured with Nirvana (on the ‘Nevermind’ tour), Sonic Youth and Breeders. they rocked Lollapalooza, Reading Festival, Roskilde Festival, Fuji Rock Festival, recorded sessions for John Peel and appeared on MTV’s ‘Beavis and Butt-Head’ and wrote a song for The Powerpuff Girls.

More recently, Shonen Knife have: played Matt Groening’s curated ATP Festival, toured the UK, Continental Europe, North America, Australia, New Zealand, China and India, played Incubate, Le Guess Who? Handmade Festival The Cathedral Quarter Arts Festival, released the critically accailmed albums Supergroup, Freetime, Osaka Ramones, Poptune and Overdrive, recorded regular BBC6 Music sessions for Marc Riley and Gideon Coe and been sited as a trailblazing influence on many of today’s young female bands.

2016 will be the band’s 35th year of rock and will and with no signs of slowing down, Naoko continues to say: “Let’s Rock!”.

Shonen Knife 35th Anniversary Tour of UK & Eire
*Tickets go on sale on Thursday November 5th at 9am via usual outlets.
Facebook event @ https://www.facebook.com/events/181029352238992/

April 14th Thur Manchester – Ruby Lounge
April 15th Fri Prestatyn Pontin’s Holiday Centre- ATP 2.00 Stewart Lee Curates
April 16th Sat Birmingham – Oobleck
April 17th Sun London – Dingwalls
April 19th Tue Falmouth – Princess Pavilion
April 20th Wed Southampton – Joiners
April 21 Thur Brighton – The Haunt
April 22 Fri Guildford – Boileroom
April 23 Sat Norwich – Arts Centre
April 24 Sun Colchester – Arts Centre
April 26 Tue Leeds – Brudenell
April 27 Wed Newcastle – Gateshead Sage 2
April 28 Thur Edinburgh – Summerhall
April 29 Fri Glasgow – CCA
April 30 Sat Dublin – Whelans
May 2 Mon Cork – Crane Lane
May 4 Wed Liverpool – Arts Club
May 5 Thur Nottingham – Maze
May 6 Friday Leicester – Musician
May 7 Sat Bedford – Esquires
May 8 Sun Bristol – Fleece

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*