SEAN McGOWAN unveils new single: 'Cuppa Tea' ahead of new album - Listen Now

SEAN McGOWAN unveils new single: 'Cuppa Tea' ahead of new album - Listen Now

Sit back and put your feet up for a change - Seán McGowan - is back with a refreshing new single: ‘Cuppa Tea’. Unafraid to vocalise the issues undoubtedly felt by young Britons the nation over, ‘Cuppa Tea’ sees Seán pour piping hot scorn on a society that increasingly expects its workers to put in longer and longer hours, and still be content with the lousiest of wages.

“I’m so sick and tired of spending my whole life on my knees. Can I have some more sir please?” quips Seán as he embraces his inner Oliver Twist and wryly pokes his tongue out at a Government whose vision of fair working conditions in 21st Century Britain similarly owe much to those of a Dickens novel.

In a bid to re-tip the scales, ‘Cuppa Tea’ sees Seán challenging the disproportionate work/life balance and squeezed incomes that many of us endure, whilst ruminating on the wider impact it is having upon our society. Speaking about the track Seán says: “Cuppa Tea is very much me calling it how I see it. It's my refusal to accept second best for myself or anyone else. In a world where money rules I'll do anything and everything to even the playing field."


A revitalising brew of smart lyricism and infectious songwriting, stirred through with a swirl of satire ‘Cuppa Tea’ is very much the perfect indicator of what’s in the bag for Seán’s now imminent debut album release: ‘Son Of The Smith’. Recorded at SS2 Studios in Southend with label mate Sam Duckworth (AKA Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly.) and Jay Malhotra, ‘Son of The Smith’ is out 11 May 2018 on Xtra Mile Recordings.

Around the release Seán will be touring around the UK & Europe with a string of dates, catch him at these venues as follows:

UK & European dates:

12 Southend Chinnerys supporting Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly
14 London Roundhouse (Lost Evenings 2)


15 London Monarch
26 Kingston Fighting Cocks
27 Bristol Crofter’s Rights
28 Birmingham Sunflower Lounge
29 Nottingham Bodega
31 Sheffield Totem


1 Leeds Santiagos
2 Southampton Joiners
3 Cardiff Tiny Rebel
5 Exeter Cavern
7 Cambridge Portland Arms
8 Oxford Cellar
9 Reading Rising Sun Arts Centre

‘Son of the Smith’ Album track-listing

Mind The Doors
Cuppa Tea
Romance Ain’t Dead
Skin & Bone
Porkie Pies
Oh My Days
Mind Your Head
Local Boy
Auto Pilot
Life Has A Way
Off The Rails
Mind The Gap

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.