SEAN McGOWAN - Comes of age with 'Springhill' single - Listen Here

SEAN McGOWAN - Announces 'Son Of The Smith' album + Extensive 2018 Tour Dates

Some things in life are always worth waiting for. Whether it’s an album by your favourite band, Christmas next year or even true love - things will always have more resonance with time. For ascending troubadour Seán McGowan, that holds especially true as he today reveals his latest single ‘Springhill’ - a song no less than 7 years in the making…

Aching with every second of the years Seán has spent perfecting it, ‘Springhill’ is an autobiographical vignette and a candle held to the closest of friends; the sound of Seán opening-up a deeply personal chapter of his diary for the listener to glimpse upon in confidence.

A coming-of-age tale years in the making yet honed down to just 5 heart-rending minutes, ‘Springhill’ is an eloquently versed and emotionally charged labour of love that will have you hanging off every syllable.

Opening up about ‘Springhill’, Seán tells us:

“Springhill is the story of my best friend and I. How we grew up together and how we dealt with reality. Springhill is the name of my Primary School. It's where I met my friend, playing football and generally getting up to no good. We have Violin and Piano on this song. Played by Katie Lynn and Jay Malhotra. Two of my good friends who managed to get their heads into the song and perform with grace and sensitivity.”

Listen to 'Springhill' - BELOW:

A deft illustration of Seán truly beginning to spread his wings as a songwriter, this latest cut is sure to set expectations racing for his debut album: ‘Son Of The Smith’ (out 11th May 2018 on Xtra Mile Recordings).

For those eager to learn about the making of new album, Seán McGowan recently shared an intimate new interview and session video. Filmed just ahead of his huge support show for Will Varley at Shepherd’s Bush Empire, the video features Seán speaking candidly about life and music and also performing a stripped-back rendition of the new single ‘Springhill’ - watch HERE.

Over the next few months, Seán will be tackling an extensive run of UK and European dates of his own as he performs ‘Son Of The Smith’ to audiences far and wide - see full dates and details below….

UK & European dates:


29 London 100 Club – supporting Ferocious Dog


04 Leiden Gebr De Nobel, Netherlands
05 Utrecht Tivolevredenburg, Netherlands
06 Arnhem Luxor Live, Netherlands
07 Groningen Vera, Netherlands
08 Hamburg Monkey’s Music Club, Germany
09 Berlin Bi Nuu, Germany
10 Kassel Goldgrube, Germany
11 Munster Gleis 22, Germany
12 Trier Lucky Luke’s, Germany
13 Cologne Artheater, Germany
14 Hannover Lux, Germany
15 Wiesbaden Schlachthof, Germany
17 Karlsruhe Jubez, Germany
18 Munich Kranhalle, Germany
19 Baden, Switzerland @ Nordportel
20 Winterthur, Switzerland @ Gaswerk
21 Milan, Italy @ Serraglio


14 London Roundhouse (Lost Evenings II)


15 London Monarch
26 Kingston Fighting Cocks
27 Bristol Crofter’s Rights
28 Birmingham Sunflower Lounge
29 Nottingham Bodega
31 Sheffield Totem
1 Leeds Santiagos
2 Southampton Joiners
3 Cardiff Tiny Rebel
5 Exeter Cavern
7 Cambridge Portland Arms
8 Oxford Cellar
9 Reading Rising Sun Arts Centre

Recorded at SS2 Studios in Southend with label mate Sam Duckworth (AKA Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly.) and Jay Malhotra, ‘Son of the Smith’ will be released on Xtra Mile Recordings on 11 May 2018. Disarming in its scope, surprising in its erudite tackling of life’s challenges, and strong of voice with just a dab of laddish humour – the album is aural personification of Seán himself.

SEAN McGOWAN - Comes of age with 'Springhill' single - Listen Here

‘Son of the Smith’ Album track-listing

Mind The Doors
Cuppa Tea
Romance Ain’t Dead
Skin & Bone
Porkie Pies
Oh My Days
Mind Your Head
Local Boy
Auto Pilot
Life Has A Way
Off The Rails
Mind The Gap

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.