PADDY HANNA shares new single ‘Colosseum’ – Watch Video

PADDY HANNA shares new single 'Colosseum' - Watch Video 1
Photo credit: Daniel Martin

Paddy Hanna today shares new single Colosseum from his upcoming album The Hill, out October 16th via Strange Brew. The album is produced by Dan Fox of Girl Band and Paddy counts Burt Bacharach as a huge admirer. A cult figure in Dublin, often described as one the most of influential figures in the alternative Irish music scene –  Fontaines DC have referred to him as one of their “favourite artists in the world”

Paddy Hanna on the new single – “Colosseum is a Doo Wop song about Gladiators, or more specifically a song that deals with feeling out of step in a world not made for you. Your welcome to read into the allegories, but I’d be just as happy if you took the words literally and treated it as the rock n roll anthem for Gladiators, your call!

The album features Girl Band’s Adam Faulkner and Daniel Fox on Drums & Double Bass, Daniel Fitzpatrick (Badhands, The Mighty Stef) on guitar & Keys and Jill Redmond on Vocals. The record was produced by Daniel Fox and the artwork was designed by Jill Redmond. Paddy says, tongue firmly in cheek “I wanted to know what a Girl Band folk album would sound like

Check out ‘Colosseum’ – BELOW:

Before lockdown Paddy toured and performed with Burt Bacharach, after bringing Paddy onstage for “Raindrops” with him in Galway, the great man whispered in his ear “You did good kid”. “I was tremendously fortunate to be able to hang out with him and his family a lot during this time, it was like a family holiday by the end,” says Paddy. Paddy has also shared stages with B.C. CamplightJoan as a Policewoman, Rozi PlainVillagersBilly Ocean (Yes, that Billy Ocean), Cate Le Bon. 

 Paddy explains further about the album – “We lost ourselves on the Hill, Daniel, Daniel, Adam and I. a seemingly endless spell of isolation spent banging sheet metal, rusted hubcaps and blistering our fingers through non-stop recording. 

The Hill is an internal musical about how the past and the present exist at the same time in our minds. It deals with the struggles of mental health, the sometimes difficult search for happiness and the moral conflict of growing up in Catholic Ireland. 

Most importantly however, I just wanted to put the past behind me on this record, I wanted to leave it on the hill. I hope you enjoy my therapy”. 

The Hill

Paddy Hanna – The Hill // Strange Brew – 16/10/20

1. Last Of Their Kind
2. Cannibals
3. A Strange Request
4. Nameless
5. My Ladybird
6. Sinatra
7. Howling At The Duke Of York
8. My Wise Addiction
9. The Hill
10. Jog On Shall We
11. Colosseum

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.