OCEAN COLOUR SCENE announce ‘Yesterday Today: 2005 – 2013’ vinyl collection

ocean colour scene

Continuing their celebration of one Ocean Colour Scene, Demon Records are proud to present Yesterday Today 2005 – 2013. This is the third instalment in the ongoing series where the label focuses on a period from the band’s illustrious career and pulls together their studio albums in one concise vinyl box.

This period includes four magnificent studio albums: A Hyperactive Workout For The Flying Squad (2005), On The Leyline (2007), Saturday (2010) and Painting (2013).

A Hyperactive Workout For The Flying Squad was produced by Dave Eringa and includes popular singles ‘Free My Name’ and ‘This Day Should Last Forever’, as well as a cover version of George Harrison’s ‘Wah Wah’ and ‘Waving Not Drowning’ featuring Paul Weller on guitar, and Jools Holland on piano and Hammond organ. On The Leyline sees OCS breaking free of their comfort zone at every turn. If the first single ‘I Told You So’ is a jangle-pop classic in the spirit of ‘You Got It Bad’, On the Leyline boasts an experimental side too. The caustic ‘Mr Brown’ (“You promised us the earth/So you could let us down”) is set to a jaunty calypso, whilst the sublime ‘These Days’ sees guitarist Steve Craddock supply lead vocals on a psychedelic excursion reminiscent of Buffalo Springfield’s ‘Everyday’.

Produced by Gavin Monaghan (The Editors & The Twang), OCS’ ninth studio album Saturday continues this psychedelic exploration, featuring singles ‘Saturday’ and ‘Magic Carpet Days’

Finishing off this set is the tenth studio album, Painting, an album that is a representation of all that is great about British rock; anthems, heartfelt ballads and weird, left-of-middle psychedelic wig-outs. Quite simply, Painting is another great record from one of Britain’s finest bands.

Put together in full coordination with the band, all of these albums have been remastered by Phil Kinrade at Alchemy Mastering and are now pressed on 140g colour vinyl.

LP1: A Hyperactive Workout For The Flying Squad (2005)

A1. Everything Comes

At The Right Time

A2. Free My Name

A3. Wah Wah

A4. Drive Away

A5. I Love You

A6. This Day Should Last Forever

B1. Move Things Over

B2. Waving Not Drowning

B3. God’s World

B4. Another Time To Stay

B5. Have You Got The Right

B6. Start Of The Day

B7. My Time

LP2: On The Leyline (2007)

A1. I Told You So

A2. On The Leyline, Waiting

A3. For Dancers Only

A4. Man In The Middle

A5. I Just Got Over You

A6. These Days I’m Tired

B1. Go To Sea

B2. You’ll Never Find Me

B3. Don’t Get Me

B4. Loneliest Girl In The

Whole Wide World

B5. Mr Brown

B6. Two Lovers

B7. Daylight

LP3: Saturday (2010)

A1. 100 Floors Of Perception

A2. Mrs Maylie

A3. Saturday

A4. Just A Little Bit Of Love

A5. Old Pair Of Jeans

A6. Sing Children Sing

A7. Harry Kidnap

B1. Magic Carpet Days

B2. The Word

B3. Village Life

B4. Postal

B5. What’s Mine Is Yours

B6. Fell In Love On The Street Again

B7. Rockfield

LP4: Painting (2013)

A1. We Don’t Look In The Mirror

A2. Painting

A3. Goodbye Old Town

A4. Doodle Book

A5. If God Made Everyone

A6. Weekend

A7. Professor Perplexity

B1. George’s Tower

B2. I Don’t Want To Leave England

B3. The Winning Side

B4. Mistaken Identity

B5. The Union

B6. The New Torch Song

B7. Here Comes The Dawning Day

In October 1989, Simon Fowler, Steve Cradock, Damon Minchella and Oscar Harrison sat down together, chose their three favourite words, arranged them in satisfactory order and became Ocean Colour Scene. Thirty-five years on, Ocean Colour Scene are still together: making music and regularly selling out huge concert halls across the country. They have the support of an extraordinarily dedicated and loyal fan base who cherish their music and hold close to their hearts a lifetime of memories supporting the group.


Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.