OASIS - 'BE HERE NOW' (CHASING THE SUN EDITION) deluxe set to be released 7th October 2016

OASIS - 'BE HERE NOW' (CHASING THE SUN EDITION) deluxe set to be released 7th October 2016

‘Be Here Now’ is the third release in the Oasis ‘Chasing The Sun: 1993-1997’ series, to be released October 7th 2016 on Big Brother Recordings. This album follows the successful re-releases of the legendary Manchester band’s first two albums, ‘Definitely Maybe’ and ‘(What’s The Story) Morning Glory?’, which were both part of the same series.

Remastered from the original tapes, ‘Be Here Now’ Chasing The Sun Edition will be available on the following formats:
· Standard CD & digital download
· Special Edition 3 x CD & Deluxe digital download
· 12” vinyl LP with download code for 2 volumes of bonus content
· Limited edition Super Deluxe Box Set - including LP, Special Edition 3 x CD, hardback coffee table book with new sleeve notes, exclusive vinyl plus a 12” white label sampler of the Mustique demos and Oasis merchandise

The Special Edition CD, Deluxe Download and Super Deluxe Box Set formats feature bonus content of B-sides, rare and unreleased Oasis tracks from the ‘Be Here Now’ era, plus a brand new Noel Gallagher mix of ‘D’You Know What I Mean?’

Says Noel of the new mix, titled ‘NG’s 2016 Rethink’, "As the years went by I'd started to accept that the songs on ‘Be Here Now’ were in fact insanely long… too long! Someone (I can't remember who) had the idea that we re-visit, re-edit the entire album for posterity’s sake. We got as far as the first track before we couldn't be arsed anymore and gave up…. It does sound f*cking mega though!”

The Special Edition CD, Deluxe Download and Super Deluxe Box Set formats also include the mysterious ‘Mustique Demos’ - 14 previously unreleased album demos recorded on the Caribbean island in 1996.

"They bring back memories of what turned out to be - if nothing else - a bloody awesome holiday!” says Noel of the demos.

‘D’You Know What I Mean? (NG’s 2016 Rethink)’ is available to stream and download now and as an instant grat with album pre-orders. Pre-order ‘Be Here Now’ Chasing The Sun Edition here


Arguably the most anticipated British album release of all time, ‘Be Here Now’ was recorded with producer Owen Morris at Abbey Road Studios, Ridge Farm Studios, and Air Studios between October 1996 and May 1997. The previous summer, Oasis has played to over 250,000 people over two nights at Knebworth House, in what for many people were the defining gigs of the 1990s.

Originally released at midnight on Thursday August 21st 1997, ‘Be Here Now’ sold 700,000 copies in just 3 days and remains to this day the fastest selling UK album on release. To date it has sold over 8 million copies worldwide. Oasis released three singles from the album, two of which - ‘D’You Know What I Mean?’ and ‘All Around The World’ – charted at No.1, with ‘Stand By Me’ reaching No.2.

The release date of the new Chasing The Sun edition, October 7th, is the 20th anniversary of the first day of the ‘Be Here Now’ recording sessions at Abbey Road Studios. Respected music journalist Hamish MacBain has written new sleeve notes for the album.

“20 years on from Knebworth, ‘Be Here Now’ still stands as the most unique album in the Oasis back catalogue, and a unique album in the history of rock’n’roll” (Hamish MacBain, 2016)


Unreleased Mustique Demos
Recorded in Mustique in early 1996 by Noel Gallagher and Owen Morris, these are the original demos for ‘Be Here Now’. The tapes of the demos were mislaid shortly after the completion of recording, and remained effectively lost until recently unearthed in the depths of the label’s archive. None of these original versions of the songs have ever been heard before by anyone outside of the band.

D’You Know What I Mean? (NG’s 2016 Rethink)
‘D’You Know What I Mean?’ entered the chart at No.1 in July 1997 and is Oasis’ third biggest selling single. Noel Gallagher has re-worked the track for this new edition of the album. The artwork for the single has also been re-imagined by sleeve designer Brian Cannon, using an outtake shot from the original cover session.

Stand By Me (Live at Bonehead’s Outtake)
Unreleased intimate version of ‘Stand By Me’ recorded at Bonehead’s home studio.

Setting Sun (Radio Broadcast)
A rare acoustic version of The Chemical Brothers’ 1996 No.1 single which Noel Gallagher co-wrote and sang.

My Big Mouth (Live at Knebworth Park)
This track made its live debut at Knebworth - the first time fans heard material from the forthcoming ‘Be Here Now’ album.

Oasis: Be Here Now Chasing The Sun Edition tracklisting:

Disc 1 – Be Here Now (Remastered)

1 D’You Know What I Mean?
2 My Big Mouth
3 Magic Pie
4 Stand By Me
5 I Hope, I Think, I Know
6 The Girl In The Dirty Shirt
7 Fade In-Out
8 Don’t Go Away
9 Be Here Now
10 All Around The World
11 It’s Gettin’ Better (Man!!)
12 All Around The World (Reprise)

Disc 2 – B–sides & Extra Tracks

1 Stay Young
2 The Fame
3 Flashbax
4 (I Got) The Fever
5 My Sister Lover
6 Going Nowhere
7 Stand By Me (Live At Bonehead’s Outtake)
8 Untitled (Demo)
9 Help! (Live In LA)
10 Setting Sun (Live Radio Broadcast)
11 If We Shadows (Demo)
12 Don’t Go Away (Demo)
13 My Big Mouth (Live At Knebworth Park)
14 D’You Know What I Mean? (NG’s 2016 Rethink)

Disc 3 – Mustique Demos

1 D’You Know What I Mean? (Mustique Demo)
2 My Big Mouth (Mustique Demo)
3 My Sister Lover (Mustique Demo)
4 Stand By Me (Mustique Demo)
5 I Hope, I Think, I Know (Mustique Demo)
6 The Girl In The Dirty Shirt (Mustique Demo)
7 Don’t Go Away (Mustique Demo)
8 Trip Inside (Be Here Now) (Mustique Demo)
9 Fade In-Out (Mustique Demo)
10 Stay Young (Mustique Demo)
11 Angel Child (Mustique Demo)
12 The Fame (Mustique Demo)
13 All Around The World (Mustique Demo)
14 It’s Gettin’ Better (Man!!) (Mustique Demo)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.