TRACK OF THE DAY: NORTHERN AMERICAN – ‘Modern Phenomena’ – Listen


Los Angeles quartet Northern American have announced their debut album, Modern Phenomena, which will arrive May 18 on Heist Or Hit Records and premiered the title track which was recorded at Red Rockets Glare studio in Santa Monica with producer Raymond Richards (Local Natives) and mastered by Mark Chalecki (Local Natives/Avi Buffalo/Islands). There is a natural energy that flows from Northern American, capturing the awe-inspiring beauty of the Los Angeles landscape through which all these lives intertwine.

Nate Paul (guitar/vocals) and Shane Alch (keys) met in high school, immediately finding a kinship in their common love of music. The two moved to Los Angeles, joining forces with Augusto Vega (bass) and Bruno Calenda (drums), setting up a studio in Chinatown, writing and rehearsing nearly daily ever since. Whilst most artists have their own roles to play within their band, Northern American is a fully collaborative project with all band members contributing lyrics, melody, and rhythm to the process. The four began performing regularly and built a loyal local following in the City of Angels, with tastemaker blog, Buzzbands.LA stating, “There’s a new rock quartet in town whose sophisticated pop may include your breezy summer melody.”

Listen to the song ‘Modern Phenomena’ BELOW:

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]
Happiness Hungover caught the ears of Heist Or Hit Records in the UK, who released the single “Wander” in 2014, which garnered airplay on BBC6 Music and Amazing Radio, and led CLASH magazine to call the band, “California hit-makers in waiting. Sun kissed songcraft designed to soundtrack a late night drive down the Sunset Strip.”

With Modern Phenomena, Northern American have found an organic, shimmering sound, that glows like the lights of Los Angeles, looking down upon the city from the San Bernardino Mountains. The band will introduce their album to audiences at this year’s SXSW Music Conference, kicking off a Spring of soon to be announced Los Angeles dates, with North American and UK/European tour dates in the works for this summer.

Modern Phenomena track listing:

01. Feel Like Whatever
02. So Natural
03. Modern Phenomena
04. Somewhere Out There
05. Blue
06. Days Between
07. You Remind Me
08. Strange Behavior
09. Nothing Personal
10. Elysian

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.