Welcome to XS Noize MixTape #12, to showcase well known and up and coming bands/artists we are currently excited about and have been spinning over the past few weeks. Featuring: Shaun William Ryder, The Milltown Brothers, Girls names, The Twilight Sad and loads more!

Listen and enjoy!

XS NOIZE MIX TAPE #12 Tracklist:

1. Prinzhorn Dance School – Reign (Shit Robot Remix)

Fellow DFA artist Shit Robot takes the track, “Reign,” from the third album from Prinzhorn Dance School, Home Economics (out June 8th), and turns it into a deep, dark floor-filler. The band’s pleading vocals dive in and out of a throbbing bassline, with new robotic percussion seamlessly blending with the band’s original bangs and clangs.

2. The Maccabees – Marks To Prove It

Written by The Maccabees – Orlando Weeks, Hugo White, Felix White, Rupert Jarvis and Sam Doyle – ‘Marks To Prove It’ is a frenetic burst of joy. The single is produced by Hugo White, The Maccabees and Laurie Latham and was recorded at their own Elephant Studios and mixed by Cenzo Townshend.

3. The Milltown Brothers – Hideaway

The Milltown Brothers are back with a new track, to wet our appetites for their forthcoming new album, due on 31ST of July. ‘Hideaway’ is a belter of a song with a driving beat and melodic guitars (yes guitars), it stands out from all the Radio 1 fodder around now. If this is anything to go by then the album will be very special. Its great to have them back.

4. SWR (Shaun William Ryder) – Close The Dam

What a tune, though. Shaun sounds more focussed than…than ever, really. Close The Dam is something new from him, a little bit future, a spare but insistent club track with the sort of lyrics that burn into your mind. Instant classic.

5. Orphan Boy – On A Nelson Skyline

This song displays the reality of the small town life in the hinder provinces. The track paints a canvas of life during the austerity era and its dispiriting effects on real life.

6. The Twilight Sad – There’s a Girl in the Corner (Robert Smith version)

The band had hoped Smith might be able to contribute to an album of remixes drawn from their third album, No One Can Ever Know, but alas owing to other commitments it wasn’t to be. As MacFarlane explains though, it wasn’t the end of their relationship with Smith: “After we recorded Nobody Wants To Be Here And Nobody Wants To Leave I sent it to Robert to have a listen, and he said it was ‘BEAUTIFUL’. We wanted to do something special for the ‘It Never Was the Same’ single, as it was going to be the last release from the album. I knew it was a pretty far fetched idea but thought I might as well chance my arm and ask Robert if he’d be up for covering one of our songs to feature as a double A-side. I couldn’t believe it when he replied saying he’d like to cover ‘There’s a Girl in the Corner’.

7. Jenny Hval – That Battle Is Over

That Battle Is Over’ feels like a mission statement, Hval icily declaring the death of out-dated ideals yet failing to offer a replacement over her most accessible melody to date.

8. Blanck Mass – Dead Format

From the new album “Dumb Flesh” out on Sacred Bones. Its just a belter track, that is all!

9. Night Dials – I’ve Done More Things

Historical connections and corrections coagulate in their recordings, creating something undeniably new but utterly familiar. The tangled past presses through the London minds of these cunning pop mavens, who twist all the sounds of yesteryear with an ear to the future and the forbidden.

10. Communions – Summer’s Oath

Danish four-piece Communions have shared another face-melting, visceral tune, “Summer’s Oath” from their current self-titled EP out now on Tough Love Records.

11. Northern American – Elysian

The final song on their new release and the first single off the album, “Elysian” saves the best for last. It is a beautiful swirling track. The song enthuses about the heaven of happy moments in life and relationships. The song is a perfect accompaniment to the spring and summer with its good time feelings.

12. Girls’ Names – Zero Triptych

Girls’ Names return with an 11-minute version of Zero Triptych on this one-sided 12” on Tough Love. It’s a gloriously swirling piece of Indie-rock which leaves behind the band’s early psych-surf sound for a new, pounding Post-Punk / New Wave direction. This song has been around for almost two years and the band felt the need to close the chapter on this mix before recording new material but if their recent, jaw-dropping performance at The Menagerie is a pointer, the new album will be a belter.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.