MANIC STREET PREACHERS release video for ‘Complicated Illusions’ – Watch Now

MANIC STREET PREACHERS release video for 'Complicated Illusions' - Watch Now
Credit: Alex Lake

Currently touring around the country, Manic Street Preachers have announced a new visualisation from Kieran Evans to accompany the new single Complicated Illusions available to watch – BELOW. The band have the second half of the tour yet to play where they mix new and old favourites for their fans.

The track is described by the band as “The battle between chaos and calm with a gliding majestic lyrical flow – leaning towards’ More Than This’ era-Roxy – Bowie’s Lodger – peak pop Echo & the Bunnymen.”

Filmmaker Kieran described the footage to compliment the song – “I’ve always felt the track feels like an epic soundtrack to an as yet made film so I’ve gone for a visual/lyric type affair using a similar aesthetic/approach to a lot of Netflix type title sequences using minimal/small type over multi-layered imagery.”

Watch the video for ‘Complicated Illusions’ – BELOW:

The bands 14th album The Ultra Vivid Lament was released to amazing reviews and reactions last month. Singles Orwellian and The Secret He Had Missed were both huge radio hits and ensured the album entered the charts at No. 1 on its release – 23 years after their last chart-topper (‘This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours’).

The Ultra Vivid Lament is both reflection and reaction; a record that gazes in isolation across a cluttered room, fogged by often painful memories, to focus on an open window framing a gleaming vista of land melting into sea and endless sky.

2021 Tour Dates
8 October – Portsmouth, Guildhall
10 October – Bournemouth, O2 Academy
11 October – Cambridge, Corn Exchange
13 October – Bath, Forum
14 October – Brighton, Dome
1 December – Llandudno, Venue Cymru
3 December – London, The SSE Arena, Wembley

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.