Manchester all-female five-piece PINS have premiered the video for new single ‘All Hail’ – Watch

Manchester all-female five-piece PINS have premiered the video for new single 'All Hail' - Watch

Manchester all-female five-piece PINS have premiered the video for new single All Hail, which is out now and will feature on their new EP Bad Thing, out on 24th March through Haus Of Pins.

PINS recently released their single Aggrophobe, which features Iggy Pop on vocals, receiving support from 6Music and Radio X alongside a host of rave reviews. New single All Hail is a mesmeric dark pop song with repetitive guitar and bass lines backed by alluring chant-like vocals and a collective chorus. A live performance video of the track, which sees PINS perform in a club, is available to watch now. PINS say;

“All Hail is a surreal performance. It’s a section taken from the full length ‘Bad Thing’ film. We wanted to do a short film to accompany the EP, and elaborate on some of the themes and ideas in the songs. We were thinking about the cross over between dreams and nightmares, real life and fantasy, day to day life and being on the road. We worked with our friends Olivier Richomme and Sarah Jenny Johnson on bringing this all together in an alternate world that exaggerates all the darkness and light. We wanted the film to be an escape, hints of honesty mixed with lynchian horror.”

Following the release of their acclaimed second album Wild Nights, PINS went back into the studio to work on new music. Recorded in an isolated house on the Scottish Borders last October and produced by Mark Vernon and the band themselves, their new EP will feature 5 tracks, which include a cover of Joy Division’s Dead Souls. It will be released as a download along with 500 limited edition 12” on Cadillac pink vinyl, which are available to pre-order from Haus of Pins.

The EP opens with the teasing Bad Thing before moving into the addictive Aggrophobe, featuring Iggy Pop’s iconic vocal, leading onto the chant-like pop of All Hail and the dreamy and synth-laden In Nightmares, before ending with PINS own take on Dead Souls. The four new tracks are synonymous with PINS’ sound but also showcase a vigorous, more mature side to the band, making up a solid and impressive musical body of work. A teaser for the EP can be watched here EP Teaser.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

Bad Thing
All Hail
In Nightmares
Dead Souls

The last two years have seen packed out touring schedules for the band, supporting the likes of Sleater-Kinney, Drenge, The Subways, Best Coast and most recently Honeyblood, aswell as perform their own headline gigs and shows at festivals including SXSW and Secret Garden Party. PINS will be touring in the UK next month, commencing in Cardiff on 10th April and culminating in a hometown show in Manchester on Saturday 22nd April. They have also announced they will be supporting Maximo Park on tour in May and have confirmed festival appearances for the summer, including Festival Number 6 and Subterranean. Full tour dates are as follows:

Mon 10th Cardiff The Moon Club
Tues 11th Brighton Rialto
Wed 12th Oxford The Bullingdon
Thurs 13th Norwich Arts Centre
Fri 14th Glasgow Broadcast
Sat 15th Edinburgh Sneaky Pete’s
Sun 16th Dundee Beat Generator Live
Mon 17th Newcastle Cluny 2
Tues 18th Leeds Headrow House
Wed 19th London Moth Club
Thurs 20th Bedford Esquires
Fri 21st Leicester The Cookie
Sat 22nd Manchester White Hotel
Sun 30th Liverpool Festevol Gardens

May (with Maximo Park):

Fri 5th Birmingham O2 Institute
Sat 6th Newcastle O2 Academy
Mon 8th Aberdeen The Lemon Tree
Tues 9th Glasgow O2 ABC
Wed 10th Sheffield The Leadmill
Fri 12th London Royal Festival Hall
Sat 13th Bexhill-On-Sea De La Warr Pavilion
Mon 15th Cambridge The Junction
Tues 16th Cardiff Tramshed
Wed 17th Falmouth Princess Pavilion
Fri 19th Manchester Albert Hall


Thur 7th-Sun 10th Portmeirion Festival Number 6
Sat 23rd Cambridge Subterranean

PINS are Faith Vern (vocals/guitar), Anna Donigan (bass), Lois Macdonald (guitar), Sophie Galpin (drums) and Kyoko Swan (keys, guitar)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.