HAPPY MONDAYS Announce Headline Belfast Show at Belfast Limelight 1 on Wed 4th Dec

HAPPY MONDAYS Announce Headline Belfast Show at Belfast Limelight 1 on Wed 4th Dec

Legendary Manchester band Happy Mondays have announced a marathon twenty-nine date Greatest Hits Tour for October, November and December 2019 which includes Belfast Limelight 1 on Wed 4th Dec.

The Happy Mondays’ classic line-up of frontman Shaun Ryder, Bez (freaky dancing and percussion), Rowetta (vocals), Gary Whelan (drums), Paul Ryder (bass), Mark Day (guitar) and and Dan Broad (MD/guitar/keys) will perform timeless hits such as Step On, Kinky Afro, Hallelujah, W.F.L., Loose Fit, Judge Fudge and 24 Hour Party People, amongst many others.

The tour begins on 23rd October and ends on 21st December, stopping off along the way London’s Roundhouse on 31st October. Happy Mondays frontman Shaun Ryder said, “Be great to be back out on the road with Happy Mondays for some pre-Christmas partying!! Looking forward to playing all the hits and more at these shows.”

Bez said, “Really excited and looking forward to the Happy Mondays tour – can’t wait to do some freaky dancing.” Rowetta added, “I’m really looking forward to this tour, almost 30 years since I first got on stage with the Mondays. The band and the fans are like family to me and I still love singing these songs as much as I did in 1990.”

After signing to Tony Wilson’s Factory Records, the late ‘80s saw the Happy Mondays become the pioneers of the Madchester sound, as they blended their love of funk, rock, psychedelia and house with the sounds of the UK’s emerging rave scene.

The band’s third album, 1990’s platinum-selling ‘Pills ‘n’ Thrills And Bellyaches’, led to the Happy Mondays crossing over into the mainstream to become icons of Britain’s biggest cultural phenomenon for a generation.

In 2016, the Happy Mondays won the Ivor Novello’s Inspiration Award, further cementing their reputation as one of Britain’s most influential and loved bands.

The full list of tour dates is as follows:

Wed 23 Oct Inverness The Ironworks

Thu 24 Oct Aberdeen Music Hall

Fri 25 Oct Dunfermline Alhambra Theatre

Sat 26 Oct Glasgow O2 Academy Glasgow

Thu 31 Oct London The Roundhouse

Fri 01 Nov Southend Cliffs Pavilion

Sat 02 Nov Cambridge Corn Exchange

Thu 07 Nov Brighton Dome

Fri 08 Nov Folkstone Leas Cliff Hall

Sat 09 Nov Portsmouth Pyramids Centre

Thu 14 Nov Preston Guild Hall

Fri 15 Nov Newcastle O2 Academy Newcastle

Sat 16 Nov Scunthorpe Baths Hall

Thu 21 Nov Manchester Academy 1

Fri 22 Nov Sheffield O2 Academy Sheffield

Sat 23 Nov Bristol O2 Academy Bristol

Thu 28 Nov Oxford O2 Academy Oxford

Fri 29 Nov Cardiff Cardiff University, Great Hall

Sat 30 Nov Nottingham Rock City

Wed 4th Dec Belfast Limelight 1

Fri 06 Dec Liverpool Mountford Hall

Sat 07 Dec Leeds O2 Academy Leeds

Thu 12 Dec Norwich UEA

Fri 13 Dec Northampton Roadmenders

Sat 14 Dec Birmingham O2 Institute

Wed 18 Dec Frome Cheese & Grain

Thu 19 Dec Bournemouth O2 Academy Bournemouth

Fri 20 Dec Guildford G Live

Sat 21 Dec Lincoln Engine Shed

A ticket presale through all of the tour’s venues will take place from 10.00am on Wednesday, 20th February.

Tickets go on general sale at 10.00am on Friday, 22nd February, available from  https://www.alttickets.com/happy-mondays-tickets

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*