DAVE KEUNING shares the video for 'From Stardust' from his new LP 'A Mild Case of Everything'

DAVE KEUNING shares the video for 'From Stardust' from his new LP 'A Mild Case of Everything'

The Killers’ founding member and guitarist, Dave Keuning is releasing his new solo album, A Mild Case of Everything today and shares the latest video for album opener, "From Startdust", saying, "I'm really proud of this one, the chorus was Sinatra influenced. It's part romance, part science - all fun."

The delightful video, directed by Russell Sheaffer and animated by Hannah McSwiggen, features felt animals shadow puppets and paper dolls.

Watch the video for "From Stardust" - BELOW:

Russell says of the video "For me, “From Stardust” is an interesting blend of nostalgia, longing, and hope. For the video, we incorporated a variety of approaches to stop motion animation: working with shadow puppets, paper dolls, and needle felted animals made by craftspeople on Etsy. I wanted to use those approaches to capture some of the energy that is so central in Keuning’s music-making the emotional range of the video both familiar and strange at the same time."

The 16-track album - a mix of dynamic guitar riffs, 80s synth-pop and melodic alt-rock - was written throughout 2020 and recorded by Dave in his San Diego home studio.

More than 17 years have passed since Iowa transplant Dave Keuning placed an ad in the local Las Vegas Weekly looking to form a band, mentioning Oasis as one of his faves. An eager 20-year-old named Brandon Flowers, who shared Keuning’s love of groups like New Order and the Cure, answered it, only to have Dave promptly hand him a TASCAM-recorded four-track demo of “Mr. Brightside.” The result was the formation of The Killers, who have released five consecutive chart-topping albums and toured the world thanks to a songwriting partnership which molded such hits as “Somebody Told Me,” “When You Were Young,” “Read My Mind,” and “Human” among others.

Dave released his debut solo album Prismism in 2019, a collection of 14 tracks – with all the instruments, save some drum parts, played by Keuning himself. A Mild Case of Everything again showcases Dave’s multi-instrumentalism, joined by Seth Luloff on drums.

A Mild Case of Everything is out today on Pretty Faithful Records.


  1. From Stardust
  2. Ends of the Earth
  3. The Fountain
  4. Time and Fury
  5. Bad Instincts
  6. No One Is Calling You A Liar
  7. Hangman On The Ocean
  8. On The Ground
  9. Peace And Love
  10. Don't Poke The Bear
  11. We All Go Home
  12. What Do Ya Want From Me
  13. World's On Fire
  14. Lost Cause Holiday
  15. You Can Stay
  16. Shake Well
Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.