CHRISSIE HYNDE - Announces Her Brand New Album 'VALVE BONE WOE' Released Sep 6th

CHRISSIE HYNDE - Announces Her Brand New Album 'VALVE BONE WOE' Released Sep 6th

The amazing Chrissie Hynde displays yet another volte-face in her incredible career with the release of her new album ‘Valve Bone Woe’ on BMG on Sep 6. Two new tracks from the album, ‘Caroline, No’ and ‘You Don’t Know What Love Is’ are available to listen to now. The album will be available on CD, double 180g vinyl and a limited edition 7” vinyl box set.

The album features 14 tracks written by a stunning array of classic songwriters and innovators, including Brian Wilson, Frank Sinatra, Hoagy Carmichael, Charlie Mingus, John Coltrane, Nick Drake, Ray Davies and Rodgers and Hammerstein.

Hynde, together with the LA Philharmonic, will perform much of the album at a special concert at the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles on July 6. Chrissie will also be performing as part of the BBC’s Proms In The Park in Hyde Park on September 14. Further information on this show is available here.


The track listing for the album is:

  1. How Glad I Am [Jimmy Williams, Larry Harrison]
  2. Caroline, No [Tony Asher, Brian Wilson]
  3. I’m a Fool to Want You [Frank Sinatra, Joel Herron, Jack Wolf]
  4. I Get Along Without You Very Well (Except Sometimes) [Hoagy Carmichael]
  5. Meditation on a Pair of Wire Cutters [Charles Mingus]
  6. Once I Loved [Norman Gimbel, Vinicius De Moraes, Antonio Jobim]
  7. Wild Is the Wind [Ned Washington, Dimitri Tiomkin]
  8. You Don’t Know What Love Is [Don Raye, Gene De Paul]
  9. River Man [Nick Drake]
  10. Absent Minded Me [Jule Styne, Bob Merrill]
  11. Naima [John Coltrane]
  12. Hello, Young Lovers [Richard Rogers, Oscar Hammerstein II]
  13. No Return [Ray Davies]
  14. Que Reste-T-il De Nos Amours [Charles Trenet]

Chrissie said today:

‘A few years back when I saw an obit in the paper for the valve-trombonist, Bob Brookmeyer, I mailed my jazz sax-playing brother, saying “R. I. P. Bob Brookmeyer.” Terry, a man of few words, responded with “Valve Bone Woe,” a kind of Haiku beatnik prose.

I thought that was a perfect title for the album I’d been working on with producer Marius de Vries. After we’d recorded 'I Wish You Love' for the Eye Of The Beholder soundtrack I’d often expressed a desire to do more along those lines. What eventually emerged was the idea to do what we refer to as our Jazz / Dub album, the one you’re now holding in your hand.  

I’m not hugely interested in branching out into other musical genres, being a devout rock singer as such, but jazz is something I grew up around (thanks to my bro) and I’ve always had a soft spot for it. I often bemoan what I regard as a decline in melody in popular music and I wanted to sing melodies. Plus, I have a penchant for cover songs, it’s the surprise of singing something that I didn’t think of writing myself that turns me on. 

Jazz got side-lined by Rock & Roll in the 60’s, but now the demise of rock seems to be heralding in a newfound interest in it, the most creative and innovative musical forms of the 20th century. I’m happy to jump on the bandwagon.’

‘Valve Bone Woe’ was recorded with the Valve Bone Woe Ensemble at Air Studios in London.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.