BILLY BRAGG - Announces new song ‘King Tide And The Sunny Day Flood’ - Listen HERE

BILLY BRAGG - Announces new song ‘King Tide And The Sunny Day Flood’ - Listen HERE

Billy Bragg, who has just returned from touring the US, will release a new song ‘King Tide And The Sunny Day Flood’ on Aug. 4th 2017 on the Cooking Vinyl label. ‘King Tide And The Sunny Day Flood’, a gorgeous alt-country shuffle recorded in Tottenham with pedal steel by C J Hillman, is a wake-up call to those who would deny that global warming is a real and imminent threat. It follows hot on the heels of Billy’s previous single ‘The Sleep Of Reason’, which was released in July and has gone down a storm on his recent live shows.

Says Billy: “Sunny day flooding is a coastal phenomenon in which strong tides cause water to gush up from drains and beneath the ground, swamping basements and inundating roads. Rises in sea level due to meling ice-caps are making it an increasingly common occurrence in Florida, where some residential areas are experiencing it on an almost monthly basis. These communities are canaries in the mine, already living with the stark realities of climate change that some still deny is happening. On a planet the surface of which is 70% water, in which the temperature of oceans drives our weather systems, we will all be affected by global warming unless we act now to limit the damage done.”

Watch the video BELOW:

Billy Bragg, who is about to play some shows in Europe before returning to tour the US in October, will tour solo and electric in the UK and Europe in November, under the title ‘Bridges Not Walls’.

The full list of shows is:


3 REYKJAVIK Iceland Airwaves
5 BEXHILL De La Warr Pavilion
6 LONDON Islington Assembly Hall
8 CAMBRIDGE Junction
10 OXFORD O2 Academy
12 SHEFFIELD The Leadmill
14 LIVERPOOL Philharmonic Hall
15 EDINBURGH The Queen’s Hall
16 NEWCASTLE Wylam Brewery
19 CARDIFF Tramshed
22 LONDON Clapham Grand
25 ANTWERP De Roma
27 COLOGNE Gloria Theatre
28 BERLIN Heimathafen
29 FRANKFURT Batschkapp
30 HAMBURG Fabrik

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.