ARCHIVE release ‘Night People’ the second track from their forthcoming documentary soundtrack

ARCHIVE release ‘Night People’ the second track from their forthcoming documentary soundtrack

Archive, the celebrated south London collective, release ‘Night People’, the second single from their forthcoming documentary ‘Super8: A Call To Arms & Angels’ – which charts the writing and recording of the band’s 12th studio album and will be streamed worldwide on Moment House on 2 April.

‘Night People’ forms part of an especially written score of music for the documentary which accompanies the release of their forthcoming album* ‘Call To Arms & Angels’ which comes out on 9 April. A slowly building, mysterious instrumental track, ‘Night People’ follows the release of ‘Super8’, the first music release from the documentary which can be heard BELOW:

Filmed over the course of 12 months on a Super 8 camera found in the attic of Archive founding member Darius Keeler’s childhood family home. The documentary covers the making of the album during an extraordinary time of global pandemic and lockdown restrictions, culminating in recording sessions at the legendary RAK studios in London earlier this year.

As well as talking about their creative process and the making of the album during such unprecedented circumstances, the band also reflect on their 25-year history that has seen Archive evolve into one of the UK’s most enigmatic musical exports.

Tickets for the Moment House online premiere are available now from

Their forthcoming album ‘Call To Arms & Angels’ is a 17 track double album recorded at RAK studios in London in 2021. Produced by Archive and long time collaborator Jérome Devoise, it is the band’s first studio album since 2016’s ‘The False Foundation’.

A reflection of the world in 2020/21, the album is a journey. It’s dark undercurrent drives from the beginning, building throughout with a progressive absorbing momentum.

Talking about the making of the new album Darius Keeler says, “To reflect on these times as artists brought up a darkness and an anger, but also a strange kind of inspiration that was at times unsettling. It really made us appreciate the power of music and how lucky we are to be able to express our feelings in this way. It seems there is light at the end of the tunnel, but there are always shadows within that light.”

Three singles from the album are available to listen to now. The 14+ minute epic-yet-haunting ‘Daytime Coma’‘Shouting Within’ which is accompanied by a beautiful video featuring Archive vocalist Holly Martin whose performance brings a poiniance to her incredibly striking lyrics of anger, vulnerability and fear and most recently ‘Fear There & Everywhere’ and its surreal video directed by Jonathan Irwin (watch here).


‘Call To Arms & Angels’


1 Surrounded By Ghosts

2 Mr Daisy

3 Fear There And Everywhere

4 Numbers

5 Shouting Within

6 Daytime Coma

7 Head Heavy

8 Enemy

9 Every Single Day


1 Freedom

2 All That I Have

3 Frying Paint

4 We Are The Same

5 Alive

6 Everything’s Alright

7 The Crown

8 Gold


1 Super8

2 Zeitgeist

3 Night People

4 Picking Up Pieces

5 Fall Outside

6 It Is And It Isn’t

7 Digging Holes

8 Is This Me

9 My Window

10 Throwing Stars

*on selected formats

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.