VIDEO PREMIERE: The Alarm - New Standards

The Alarm - New Standards

Mike Peters and The Alarm continue the journey back to life and the release of new Album ‘FORWARDS’ (June 2nd 2023), and a fourth brand new single ‘NEW STANDARDS - the outlandish new song and video, which debuts today, Friday, April 28th 2023 exclusively on XS Noize. 

“Life has changed so much in recent times, and with New Standards, I wanted to write a song about changing attitudes, the impact of social media and the dynamic between society and authority,” says Mike Peters. “Everything is changing and fast, and if you can't keep up, then life can be challenging for any and everyone who gets left behind.”

Check out the video for 'New Standards' - BELOW:

NEW STANDARDS is alive with melody and invention and with a suitably feisty news-cast style video destined to contend for a top place amongst The Alarm’s extensive discography, one that boasts over 17 Top 50 UK singles and over six million album sales worldwide. In fact, the previous three Alarm albums have all featured in the Top 10 of the British Rock Album Chart with Equals (number 2 in 2018), Sigma (number 1 in 2019) and Omega (number 8 in 2022).

Mike Peters takes the electro-acoustic music of The Alarm back out on the road this May, beginning on May 24th at the Epstein Theatre, Liverpool, and includes a special concert at the beautiful and atmospheric Union Chapel, Islington, on June 6th. With the release of three singles already airing in public, the new album, FORWARDS, is rapidly gaining the band new momentum, with The Alarm all set to perform two nights at New York’s Gramercy Theatre this June 23/24 followed by a UK appearance at Beautiful Days Festival on August 18th and a pre-festival warm-up show in the North of England at Holmfirth Picturedrome the night before - August 17th.

“With social media giving everyone a voice and a platform for opinion and to affect change, modern society is setting new standards every day,” continues Mike Peters. “I hope we can all learn to live with and by them - together.”



1. Forwards
2. The Returning
3. Another Way
4. Love and Forgiveness
5. Next
6. Whatever
7. Transition
8. Love Disappearing
9. New Standards
10. X

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.