VIDEO PREMIERE: Proud Mary – Keep It Moving

VIDEO PREMIERE: Proud Mary - Keep It Moving

Following the release of their recent album Songs From Catalina, Proud Mary release new single ‘Keep It Moving’ on 9th October. ‘Keep It Moving’ finds the band in an upbeat mood, on a guitar-led stomper. The accompanying video was shot near Lake Cuyamaca in the state park about 40 miles north of San Diego. Filmed and edited by singer Greg Griffin’s wife, Jenea Griffin, the video captures the appearance of movement and the beauty of the area. XS Noize is pleased to exclusively premiere the video today!

Reinvigorated after a long hiatus, Proud Mary released album Songs from Catalina this summer. Recorded at Palam studios in the Santa Catalina area of Palma, Mallorca over a period of five months, the album was produced by José Puter Puigserver of Mallorcan experimental rock music the Satellites (with additional production taking place in California, Colorado and Doha, Qatar). It’s the first album from Proud Mary in almost a decade. It sees the band return with a fresh direction, on a collection of infectious and instantly familiar bluesy, stoner folk-rock inspired songs.

Take Opener ‘Easy Tiger’, a psych-blues number about a destructive and hopeless relationship tolerated by focusing on the rare and intense thrilling respites. True love via hate, hurt and everything in between. We can all bite off more than we can chew.

Or ‘Wonderland’, an Albert King-inspired blues song written about, and whilst, at a party in Ibiza. Referencing Tanit, a warrior goddess of dance, fertility, creation and destruction, the protector goddess of Ibiza, And Bes the deity of music, merriment. Channelled or exploited by the artists. inspiration or aspiration? A fool’s paradise, or is it Wonderland?

Songs from Catalina also features the country-tinged ‘How Does It Feel?’, ‘Meet Me In The Morning’ and Blew It All Away’. The electronical and vocal experimentation of ‘Lazy Days and Loaded Nights’, ‘Spaces and Places’, and the acoustically traditional arrangements of ‘All Your Friends are Mine’, ‘Blew It All Away’ and ‘Oxwich Bay’.

Songs From Catalina is a welcome return for Proud Mary. An album with a melancholic, yet uplifting atmosphere, the languid mood evocative of lazy summer days, with songs featuring laidback groves, insidious hooks and harmonies, it is the perfect album to while away the summer…

Watch the video for ‘Keep It Moving’ – BELOW:

Proud Mary comprises Greg Griffin (vocals), Paul ‘Spot’ Newsome (guitars, bass, keys, drums, harmonica and vocals), Nathan Birkett (bass, keys, guitars, vocals), Tony Auton (guitars, mandolin, vocals), and Hani Abbasi (drums, percussion and vocals).

Proud Mary plans to tour next year.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.