PROUD MARY announce September tour celebrating 20th anniversary of their debut album & 2020's 'Songs From Catalina'

PROUD MARY announce September tour celebrating 20th anniversary of their debut album & 2020's 'Songs From Catalina'

Following the release of last year’s ‘Songs From Catalina, Proud Mary’s first album in seven years, the band are pleased to announce they will undertake a UK tour in September.

The tour will be a 20th-anniversary celebration of Proud Mary’s debut album, ‘Same Old Blues’. The band will also be playing fan favourites and songs from last year’s ‘Songs From Catalina’.

Proud Mary received a lot of attention back in 2001 when they were the first signing to Noel Gallagher’s/Sony’s SourMash label. The association produced their best-selling album to date, The Same Old Blues, along with prestigious support slots for artists such as Neil Young, The Who, Black Crowes, Paul Weller, to name a few.

Last year’s Songs from Catalina was the first album from Proud Mary in almost a decade. It was recorded at Palam studios in the Santa Catalina area of Palma, Mallorca over a period of five months and produced by José Puter Puigserver of Mallorcan experimental rock music the Satellites (with additional production taking place in California, Colorado and Doha, Qatar). It saw the band return with a fresh direction, on a collection of infectious and instantly familiar bluesy, stoner folk-rock inspired songs.

Songs From Catalina was a welcome return for Proud Mary. An album with a melancholic, yet uplifting atmosphere, the languid mood evocative of lazy summer days, with songs featuring laidback groves, insidious hooks and harmonies, it is the perfect album to while away a summer’s day.

Tour Dates: 

September 2021

Thursday 9th Sub 89, Reading

Friday 10th Bush Hall, London

Saturday 11th The Globe, Cardiff

Thursday 16th The Ferret, Preston

Friday 17th The Warehouse, Leeds

Saturday 18th KU, Stockton-On-Tees

Friday 24th Gorilla, Manchester

Saturday 25th King Tuts, Glasgow

Proud Mary comprises Greg Griffin (vocals), Paul ‘Spot’ Newsome (guitars, bass, keys, drums, harmonica and vocals), Nathan Birkett (bass, keys, guitars, vocals), Tony Auton (guitars, mandolin, vocals), and Hani Abbasi (drums, percussion and vocals).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.