U2 Announce The Release of ZOOROPA – 30th Anniversary – Limited Edition Yellow Vinyl

Photography by Anton Corbijn

Island Records and UMR today announce the release of Zooropa – 30th Anniversary Limited Edition Gatefold – a transparent yellow vinyl pressing celebrating three decades of U2’s Grammy-winning eighth studio album.

This very special release is coming in October 2023 to coincide with the band’s next ambitious project, their long-awaited live return with ‘U2:UV Achtung Baby Live At The Sphere’, which kicks off on 29th September 2023 for a run of shows in Las Vegas. Pre-order Zooropa – 30th Anniversary Limited Edition Yellow Vinyl and Gatefold here.

Produced by Flood, Brian Eno and The Edge, Zooropa was released on 5th July 1993 on Island Records. U2 began writing and recording Zooropa in Dublin in February of that year, during a six-month break between legs of the industry-defining ZOO TV Tour. Initially intended as just an EP, Zooropa became a fully-fledged album with ten tracks – including singles ‘Numb’, ‘Lemon’ and ‘Stay (Faraway, So Close!)’ – recorded in just six weeks, making it the fastest U2 album ever produced. Inspired by the band’s experiences on the ZOO TV Tour, Zooropa expanded on many of the tour’s themes of technology and media oversaturation. The album went to Number 1 in Ireland, USA, United Kingdom, Japan, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Italy, Sweden, Austria, France, Switzerland, Germany, Holland, Norway, Denmark and Iceland. In 1994, Zooropa saw the band collect the Grammy Award for Best Alternative Music Album.

On Wednesday, 12th July, fans can come together to celebrate the anniversary with a very special global live stream of ZOO TV: Live From Sydney at 12 noon PST / 8 pm BST.

Plus, a limited-edition merch capsule collection to mark the 30th anniversary of Zooropa will be available only until midnight PST on the 13th of July. To pre-order, visit http://Zooropa.u2.com

FORMAT INFORMATION – Zooropa – 30th Anniversary Limited Edition Gatefold:

2 x LP Info:
Deluxe gatefold package on foil board
Newly added photo of the band by Anton Corbijn from 1993 on the inner gatefold
2LP pressed on transparent yellow vinyl
2018 remaster – the original album tracks across three sides, with two additional mixes on side 4



1. Zooropa
2. Baby Face
3. Numb

1. Lemon
2. Stay (Faraway, So Close!)
3. Daddy’s Gonna Pay For Your Crashed Car

1. Some Days Are Better Than Others
2. The First Time
3. Dirty Day
4. The Wanderer

1. Lemon (The Perfecto Mix)
2. Numb (Gimme Some More Dignity Mix)


Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.