TOY share ‘You Make Me Forget Myself’ from upcoming new album ‘Happy In The Hollow’

TOY share 'You Make Me Forget Myself' from upcoming new album 'Happy In The Hollow'

TOY have shared ‘You Make Me Forget Myself’, the latest cut from their new album Happy In The Hollow, which is released on Friday, January 25th 2019. Their fourth album, and their first for new label Tough Love Records, it’s unquestionably their most direct and propulsive album to date.

Speaking on the new track, the band offered:

“It has a feeling of estrangement about it. The sound of someone you love who’s going away and it doesn’t matter. It’s the first song Maxim has sung lead on and Dominic plays slide reminiscent of Ry Cooder on the Paris, Texas soundtrack.”

Listen to ‘You Make Me Forget Myself’ – BELOW:

Recorded between the band’s own home tape studios and mixed at Dan Carey’s Studio B in South London, the new album was entirely produced and mixed by the band. The track listing of the 11-track album is as follows:

1. Sequence One

2. Mistake A Stranger

3. Energy

4. Last Warmth Of The Day

5. The Willo

6. Jolt Awake

7. Mechanism

8. Strangulation Day

9. You Make Me Forget Myself

10. Charlie’s House

11. Move Through The Dark

Happy In The Hollow is entirely uncompromising: an atmospheric capturing of a state of mind that touches on Post Punk, electronic dissonance, acid folk and Krautrock. Familiar qualities like metronomic rhythms, warping guitars, undulating synths and Tom’s gentle, reedy vocals are all in there, but so is a greater emphasis on melody, a wider scope, and a combining of the reassuring and the sinister that is as unnerving as it is captivating.’

The sound has without doubt expanded — and grown more confident — in part because
this is the first album for which Toy has become a self-sufficient five-person unit doing everything for themselves.

“Each song was a blank canvas,” says Maxim. “Producers inevitably develop their own patterns over

time, right down to certain drum sounds. We were starting from scratch and it felt very creative as a

result. It’s an album we feel deeply connected to”.

Finally, having recently played a packed-out show at the Shacklewell Arms in London, where they premiered a number of the new album tracks, the band have announced a run of headline shows in the new year. The full list of dates is as follows:


13th Belfast, Empire Music Hall

14th Dublin, The Workmans Club

15th Manchester, YES

16th Glasgow, King Tuts

17th Leeds, Brudenell Social Club

19th Brighton, Patterns

20th London, Village Underground

21st La Route du Rock, St. Rennes, FR
22nd Witlof Bar @ Botanique, Brussels, BE

24th Upstairs @ Paradiso, Amsterdam, NL

25th Bumann, Cologne, DE

26th Prinzenbar, Hamburg, DE

27th Cassiopeia, Berlin, DE

28th Beatpol, Dresden, DE

1st Swamp, Freiburg, DE

2nd Petit Bain, Paris, FR
6th Ohibo, Milan, IT

7th Largo, Rome, IT

8th Covo Club, Bologna, IT

12th Kafe Antzokia Club, Bilbao, ES

13th Siroco, Madrid, ES

14th Las Armas, Zaragoza, ES

15th Sidecar, Barcelona, ES


Since 2010, Toy have earned a reputation as a band of integrity, virtuosity and taste, with Tom, Maxim, Dominic, Charlie and (joining in 2015) Max creating a sound that is embedded in the underground tradition, yet distinctly their own. Since their inception, they have released the acclaimed albums Toy (2012), Join The Dots (2013) and Clear Shot (2016), and toured everywhere from Serbia to China.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.