THEY MIGHT BE GIANTS drop new single ‘Super Cool’ from forthcoming new album ‘BOOK’!

THEY MIGHT BE GIANTS drop new single 'Super Cool' from forthcoming new album 'BOOK'! 1
Credit: Shervin Lainez

They Might Be Giants have announced November 12, 2021, as the release date for their new album and remarkable accompanying art book, both aptly titled: BOOK. The alternative rock legends shared the new album track “Super Cool” exclusively on their FREE Dial-A-Song smartphone app (iPhone / Android) which adds a new song every day.

The song is also now released across all other good digital platforms as of September 21st. BOOK has already pre-sold 10,000+ copies and the project has been making radio waves. Recent explosive dance floor rocker “I Can’t Remember the Dream” received BBC 6 Music airplay and landed at #1 on the SubModern Tracks Chart two weeks in a row with BOOK also heading to #1 on the SubModern Albums Chart!

BOOK finds TMBG expanding their own worldview through multiple mediums while continuing to refine their songwriting craft. A 144-page full-colour, cloth-bound hardcover book and brand new full-length album, the project was born through a series of brainstorms with longtime collaborator and graphic design legend Paul Sahre when they decided to team up with Brooklyn street photographer Brian Karlsson. Sahre’s implementation of IBM’s Selectric typewriter adds a striking effect throughout BOOK’s visual component as well.

John Flansburgh shares, “Paul took this crude device and showed what you could really do with it creatively, and combined with Brian’s photography it made up the secret sauce for the book.” The 15-song album is classic TMBG, with clever melodies and airtight songwriting that stays in your head long after the final note’s been played.

Listen to ‘Super Cool’ – BELOW:

In addition to the book of BOOK, there will also be standalone audio releases available on vinyl, CD, and even cassette. BOOK on Tape! A very limited production of 8-track tapes sold out instantly. All formats come with a download of the album.

Two-time Grammy winners, They Might Be Giants started with a Dial-A-Song service, powered by a lone phone machine out of their Brooklyn apartments. Since then, they have made 23 albums, and have secretly infiltrated your TV with original themes and incidental music to numerous shows and commercials. Stay tuned for more news coming soon!


BOOK tracklist:

  1. Synopsis for Latecomers
  2. Moonbeam Rays
  3. I Broke My Own Rule
  4. Brontosaurus
  5. Lord Snowdon
  6. If Day for Winnipeg
  7. I Can’t Remember the Dream
  8. Drown the Clown
  9. Darling, the Dose
  10. I Lost Thursday
  11. Part of You Wants to Believe Me
  12. Super Cool
  13. Wait Actually Yeah No
  14. Quit the Circus
  15. Less Than One
Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.