THE TWILIGHT SAD release surprise album ‘IT WON/T BE LIKE THIS ALL THE TIME LIVE’ today via Bandcamp

THE TWILIGHT SAD share video for current single 'VTr', taken from new album IT WON/T BE LIKE THIS ALL THE TIME

Today, on what was originally to be the date of the first of two nights at Glasgow’s Barrowland Ballroom, The Twilight Sad are delighted to announce the release of It Won/t Be Like This All the Time Live: a momentous collection of live recordings captured across the band’s 2019 tours, one of the busiest years to date for a group well used to the live circuit.

Featuring cuts from across The Twilight Sad’s extensive discography, it serves as a reminder of just why they’ve become one of the UK’s most cherished acts. While it can never hope to compete with catching a show in the flesh this week, the band hope it will offer fans comfort in the present climate. They offer the following statement:

We have been talking about recording a live album for a long time. We think this is the best we’ve been playing as a live band and wanted to document that. With five albums of material we felt now was the time.

Over the past few months we were figuring out how to release the album and then COVID-19/lockdown/gig cancellations happened. We quickly decided that we would release the album digitally on a pay what you want basis. The reason behind this is that we know that financially it is a worrying time for a lot of people and for ourselves included. We wanted to make sure we could give everyone who likes our band one of our gigs live in their living room as we can’t be out in the world playing gigs right now. We wanted to make sure that anyone who wants the album can afford it as well.

Tomorrow night we were supposed to be playing our second night at the famous Glasgow Barrowland Ballroom. We invite everyone to take part in our Twitter listening party for the live album hosted by Tim Burgess #timstwitterlisteningparty Let’s pretend we’re all at the gig together. All five of us will be taking part and sharing memories from past gigs, sharing thoughts on playing live and many other things.

I hope everyone is doing okay. I hope this helps.

The title of our last album It Won/t Be Like This All the Time has been living with me for the past three/four years and right now that sentiment feels stronger than ever. We’ll get through this together.

Sending our love to you and all the health services around the world.

James, Andy, Johnny, Brendan & Seb

The Twilight Sad

As mentioned by the band above, fans can join Tim Burgess on Twitter tomorrow night, April 17th, at 10pm BST for a special listening party around the live album. Tweet #timstwitterlisteningparty and get involved.

The live album will appear on DSPs from May 15th but for now is available exclusively from today on Bandcamp on a pay-what-you-want basis. It’s up here.


1. [10 Good Reasons for Modern Drugs]
2. Shooting Dennis Hopper Shooting
3. VTr
4. Don’t Move
5. Last January
6. That Summer, At Home I Had Become the Invisible Boy
7. The Arbor
8. I/m Not Here [missing face]
9. Sunday Day13
10. There’s a Girl in the Corner
11. Seven Years of Letters
12. Auge/Maschine
13. Videograms
14. Let/s Get Lost
15. Cold Days from the Birdhouse
16. The Wrong Car
17. Keep Yourself Warm
18. And She Would Darken the Memory

Forthcoming UK Tour Dates:

July 24th-26th Thirsk – Deer Shed Festival
Sept 16th Liverpool – Arts Club
Sept 18th Glasgow Barrowland Ballroom
Sept 19th Glasgow Barrowland Ballroom
Oct 7th-10th Wrexham – Focus Wales 2020

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.