THE SHEEPDOGS Announce New Album - ‘Future Nostalgia’

THE SHEEPDOGS Announce New Album - ‘Future Nostalgia’

The Sheepdogs will release their third album Future Nostalgia on October 2nd, 2015 via Dine Alone Records (City and Colour, BRONCHO). The highly-anticipated collection, mixed by Vance Powell (Jack White) in Nashville, brings the band back to their 70s-rock inspired roots and is the follow up to their self-titled, award-winning album in 2012 (produced by The Black Keys’ Patrick Carney). The new single “Downtown” is streaming BELOW. The band are currently playing festivals throughout North America, with UK dates to be announced for the tail end of the year.

Produced by lead vocalist and songwriter Ewan Currie alongside engineer Matt Ross-Spang (engineer at Memphis’ Sun Studios) the 18 freshly-minted tracks on Future Nostalgia were recorded in the quiet and idyllic setting of Stony Lake, Ontario, a conscientious choice by the band to ensure they kept all distractions at bay and the recording process as natural as possible. The band, comprised of Currie, Ryan Gullen (bass/vox), Sam Corbett (drums/vox), Shamus Currie (keys/horns) and Rusty Matyas (guitar/vox), set up camp for several weeks in a cottage in the remote country where they trucked in equipment to build a studio in order to record their latest effort. Says Currie “We worked from morning ‘til night, but we kept it loose, had a real good time, and came away with a rock n’ roll record”.

Formed in Saskatoon, The Sheepdogs have followed in the footsteps of Canadian rock legends including Neil Young, The Band and The Guess Who with a bold take on classic guitar rock and polished retro sound. The band came into the national spotlight in 2011 as the first unsigned band to appear on the cover of Rolling Stone, which led to a performance on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon and a special appearance on Project Runway. A live favourite, The Sheepdogs have played at numerous festivals and headlined tours across North America, including performances at Bonnaroo, Coachella, Lollapalooza, as well as opening for acts like Kings of Leon. For their last self-titled LP, The Sheepdogs worked with Patrick Carney of The Black Keys to produce the collection, which debuted at No. 1 on the Canadian Top 200 SoundScan Chart, and garnered three No. 1 singles. The band has also won four JUNO awards, and been nominated for seven over their impressive career.

Future Nostalgia Track listing:

1. I'm Gonna Be Myself

2. I Really Wanna Be Your Man

3. Downtown

4. Jim Gordon

5. Bad Lieutenant

6. Jim Sullivan

7. Back Down

8. Help Us All

9. Take A Trip

10. Same Old Feeling

11. Nothing All Of The Time

12. Darryl & Dwight

13. Where I Can Roam

14. The Bridge City Turnaround

15. Plastic Man

16. Giving It Up (For My Baby)

17. I Get By

18. Where I Can Roam (Reprise)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.