THE GO! TEAM share brand new single“The Only Thing New is U Finding Out About It”

THE GO! TEAM share brand new single“The Only Thing New is U Finding Out About It”

The Go! Team have shared “The Only Thing New is U Finding Out About It”, a brand new single following on from their acclaimed new album SEMICIRCLE (out now on Memphis Industries).

Band leader Ian Parton explains the influences behind the upbeat and mostly instrumental track: “The Only Thing New Is U Finding Out About It” is an expansion of an idea from a remix I did years ago. It builds around a looping Steve Reich-esque kalimba line, with a syncopated steel drum response jumping in the gaps, and by the end, a full-on choir have joined in this weird math rock African/Asian hybrid thing. The title is inspired by a Mike Watt quote. It’s a sentiment I’m into: that it’s up to you to go out and track down the good shit that’s out there…”

Check out the video for “The Only Thing New is U Finding Out About It” – BELOW:

The Go! Team are currently stateside, with an appearance on TruTV’s The Chris Gethard Show on 10th April sandwiched between headline shows nationwide. In May, they will perform shows in Belfast and Dublin before appearances at UK summer festivals. Read on for the band’s full live itinerary.

The Go! Team live (UK and Ireland shows in bold)
24 March – Los Angeles, CA, Teragram Ballroom
25 March – San Diego, CA, Casbah
27 March – San Francisco, CA, Independent
29 March – Portland, OR, Doug Fir
30 March – Seattle, WA, Neumos
31 March – Vancouver, BC, Fox
03 April – St. Paul, Turf Club
04 April – Chicago, Lincoln Hall
05 April – Detroit, El Club
06 April – Toronto, Great Hall
08 April – Boston, The Sinclair
09 April – New York, Le Poisson Rouge
03 May – Dublin, Button Factory
04 May – Belfast, Black Box
17-19 May – Brighton, Great Escape Festival
02 June – Cheltenham, Wychwood Festival
21 July – London, Kaleidoscope Festival
27 July – Warwick, Lunar Festival

Tickets are on sale now from

SEMICIRCLE, which debuted in the UK top 40 charts was cited early on as one of 2018’s Most Anticipated Releases by Pitchfork and Stereogum (among others) and described by NPR Music “a rich and playful swirl of Technicolor overdrive” in an exclusive pre-release stream. The album has earned rave reviews in Paste, The Guardian, All Music, The Daily Mirror, among others. Ian Parton and Ninja recently talked with Bullseye’s Jesse Thorn about the process of making the album in Detroit, where the band hooked up with The Detroit Youth Choir to fulfill his vision of a marching band going rogue and chucking away their sheet music to blast out Northern soul stompers, Japanese indie-pop swooners and old-school hip-hop jams. The “Mayday” music video features footage of the Detroit Youth Choir recording their vocals for the track. Learn more about the collaboration in this short film.

Unlike 2015’s The Scene Between – which was essentially a solo project that followed the dissolution of the previous Go! Team lineup – SEMICIRCLE finds Parton collaborating with current live players Simone Odaranile (drums) and Angela ‘Maki’ Won-Yin Mak (vocals), as well as two original members, guitarist Sam Dook and rapper Ninja. Annelotte de Graaf (aka Amber Arcades), previous collaborator Julie Margat (aka Lispector), and a crew of unexpected musicians feature throughout

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.