THE ELECTRIC SOFT PARADE return with their 5th album ‘Stages’ – released on January 8th 2020

THE ELECTRIC SOFT PARADE return with their 5th album ‘Stages’ - released on January 8th 2020

The group’s first music in 6 years, Stages deals with the passing of Thomas and Alex’s mother. These 7 expansive tracks transcend their roots in grief, reaching through love, loss, mourning and hope, with the ambitious pallet of The Electric Soft Parade.

“Several years after our mother passed away, I sat down one day and wrote the rough shape of an album…” explains Alex “I took on the multiple perspectives of the experience of death and grief – trying to imagine my mother’s feelings and how she experienced both her life and her death, as well as how others in the family may have felt and reacted, as well as my own sense of overcoming this grief.”

Written and sung by Alex, produced and recorded by Thomas, the album is truly collaborative and represents a new period in the band’s output. “My writing having been less than forthcoming in recent years – I have now hit a peak, I hope.” says Alex, “I am extremely proud of these pieces of work, both in their honesty and their construction. It is a strange feeling to be a fan of one’s work and genuinely satisfied and engaged with it: often in the past, I have felt I have ‘got away’ with things, or not been able to fully realise my ideas. Not so here.”

Listen to ‘Roles Reversed’ – BELOW:

Having worked on the songs with a new group of musicians and completing the recording of a first draft of the album, the band decided to shelve the project. A year or so later, Thomas and Alex decided to bring this project back from retirement and re-tool it, re-imagine it, and re-record it, thus presenting their 5th album as The Electric Soft Parade, “our personal tribute to our mother, our family, and ourselves”.

For an album rooted in loss, there is an undeniably uplifting tone to the record, “Hopefully, this personal vision and interrogation of grief may provide others with a roadmap of sorts to navigate these deep, dark, universal feelings – not in a depressive, maudlin manner, but rather with an honest, reflective, and ameliorating tone.”

Thomas and Alex White return with their 5th album as The Electric Soft Parade, ‘Stages’ is released on January 8th 2020 on CD/LP/download via Chord Orchard.

Tracklisting – Stages
1. Saturday
2. Never Mind
3. The Bargain
4. Left Behind
5. On Your Own
6. Roles Reversed
7. Fragments

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.