THE CORAL release new track ‘After The Fair’ – Watch Video

THE CORAL announce new album 'Move Through The Dawn' to be released August 17th

‘After The Fair’ is the new track from The Coral, available to stream and download now and as an instant grat with pre-orders of new album ‘Move Through The Dawn’, which will be released next Friday, August 10th on Ignition Records. 

“It started off as a take on Bert Jansch’s version of Jackson C Frank’s ‘Blues Run The Game,'” says frontman James Skelly of writing ‘After The Fair’, which closes ‘Move Through The Dawn’. “Nick is really good at acoustic fingerpicking, and I wanted it to sound like Lindsay Buckingham, to take away from the obvious folk thing.”

“Fingerpicking is actually the only guitar style I can play,” adds Nick Power, The Coral’s keyboard player. “We generally have a stockpile of songs, and this one is actually from the ‘Butterfly House’ period but it made the perfect ending to this album.”

The evocative video for the ‘After The Fair’ was filmed in Llandudno and directed by James Slater – Watch BELOW:

Also available now from ‘Move Through The Dawn’ are the 6Music playlisted single ‘Sweet Release’ and new single ‘Eyes Like Pearls’, which is currently playlisted at Radio 2 and 6Music.

The Coral returned recharged after a five-year hiatus with 2016’s psychedelic, riff-heavy ‘Distance Inbetween’. Now with ‘Move Through The Dawn’ they have come back with an album filled with perfectly crafted songs: melodic, hopeful. A key influence was Phil Spector’s 70s albums with The Ramones and Dion; albums that brought a big sound while still holding onto a sense of innocence. The band also cite early Bob Marley, ELO and even the Traveling Wilburys as inspirations, while a simple lyrical and philosophical theme runs throughout: trying to find something real in a world that seems more artificial by the day. ‘Move Through The Dawn’ is also, in true Coral fashion, eccentric. It is informed by 60s and 70s music but hardly beholden to it, and very much with its own character.

Having supported Manic Street Preachers on their Arena tour earlier this year, The Coral recently announced a UK headline tour in October. Support on all dates comes from She Drew The Gun, the acclaimed Liverpool quartet signed to Coral frontman James Skelly’s Skeleton Key label.

Prior to the tour, The Coral will be appearing at festivals throughout the summer, and will be celebrating the release of ‘Move Through The Dawn’ by hosting the Skeleton Coast Festival at Leasowe Castle, Wirral, on Saturday September 1st. Joining The Coral, who headline, will be Tim Burgess, Fuzzy Sun – the first signing to Blossoms new label Very Clever – plus Skeleton Key Records artists including The Fernweh, Marvin Powell and Cut Glass Kings.

The Coral’s keyboard player Nick Power has also written a new book, ‘Into The Void’, which will be published by Ebacc concurrently with the new album. Powers’ third book, ‘Into The Void’ is an insightful, amusing and evocative first hand account of the recording, release and touring of ‘Distance Inbetween’.

Since their debut EP release in 2001 The Coral have sold over a million UK albums, with five reaching the Top 10 including 2003’s chart-topping ‘Magic and Medicine’. Their eight Top 40 singles include ‘Dreaming Of You’, ‘In The Morning’, ‘Pass It On’, and ‘Don’t Think You’re The First’.

‘Move Through The Dawn’ will be released on August 10th on Ignition Records on CD, LP and digitally.

FRI 5 BIRMINGHAM, O2 Institute
SAT 6 LEEDS, Beckett Students’ Union
FRI 12 LIVERPOOL, University The Mountford Hall
SAT 13 MANCHESTER, Albert Hall

Tickets on general sale now – see for further details.

August 19 Don Valley Bowl, Sheffield (supporting Ocean Colour Scene)
August 26 Camper Calling, Alcester (headline set)
Aug 31 Electric Fields, Dumfries
Sep 1 Skeleton Coast Festival, Leasowe Castle, Wirral (headline set)

The Coral ‘Move Through The Dawn’ tracklisting:

1. Eyes Like Pearls
2. Reaching Out For A Friend
3. Sweet Release
4. She’s A Runaway
5. Strangers In The Hollow
6. Love Or Solution
7. Eyes Of The Moon
8. Undercover Of The Night
9. Outside My Window
10. Stormbreaker
11. After The Fair

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.