South London collective, ARCHIVE announce new album ‘Call To Arms & Angels’ - Hear new single ‘Shouting Within’


Archive, the acclaimed south London collective, announce ‘Call To Arms & Angels’, their brand new album set for release on 8 April 2022 and the album’s second single, ‘Shouting Within’, which is accompanied by a beautiful video featuring Archive vocalist Holly Martin whose performance brings a poiniance to her incredibly striking lyrics of anger, vulnerability and fear as she explains…

... “In the past two years we’ve been seeing how constant fear and uncertainty can impact human connections. Writing ‘Shouting Within’, we were talking about how people have been feeling so angry, so paralysed and so vulnerable getting caught in the divide. Craving connection but fearing contact. So many theories, stories, highs and lows. It’s hard to suppress the inner rage that grows from that”.

The band’s twelfth studio album, ‘Call To Arms & Angels’ is a 17 track double album (triple LP) recorded at RAK studios in London. Produced by long time collaborator Jérome Devoise, it is the band’s first studio album since 2016’s ‘The False Foundation’.

A reflection of the world in 2021, the album mirrors not only the band’s individual and collective frustrations and challenges that were bestowed upon them, but a wider reflection of others whose lives were polarised by the reality of the daily struggles many face through health, wellbeing and individual socio economic circumstance.

This album is a journey. Its dark undercurrent drives from the beginning, building throughout with a progressive absorbing momentum which then breaks to some beautiful simplicity giving the album an irresistible contrast reminding us of the deeper darker times but also the moments of calm often thrust upon us through stark realities!

Talking about the making of the new album Darius Keeler says, “To reflect on these times as artists brought up a darkness and an anger, but also a strange kind of inspiration that was at times unsettling. It really made us appreciate the power of music and how lucky we are to be able to express our feelings in this way. It seems there is light at the end of the tunnel, but there are always shadows within that light.”

 Watch the ‘Shouting Within’ video BELOW:

The release of ‘Shouting Within’ follows September’s release of the band’s 14+ minute epic-yet-haunting ‘Daytime Coma’, the first single from the album. The band will be announcing news about their ‘Super 8’ documentary which is accompanied by the ‘Super 8’ soundtrack that is available as part of the deluxe editions of the album.


‘Call To Arms & Angels’ - CD / Streaming Sites


1 Surrounded By Ghosts

2 Mr Daisy

3 Fear There And Everywhere

4 Numbers

5 Shouting Within

6 Daytime Coma

7 Head Heavy

8 Enemy

9 Every Single Day


1 Freedom

2 All That I Have

3 Frying Paint

4 We Are The Same

5 Alive

6 Everything’s Alright

7 The Crown

8 Gold

‘Call To Arms & Angels’ - Vinyl

Disc 1: Side 1

1 Surrounded By Ghosts

2 Mr Daisy

3 Fear There And Everywhere

4 Numbers

5 Shouting Within

Disc 1: Side 2

1 Daytime Coma

Disc 2: Side 3

1 Head Heavy

2 Enemy

3 Every Single Day

Disc 2: Side 4

1 Freedom

2 All That I Have

Disc 3: Side 5

1 Frying Paint

2 We Are The Same

3 Alive

4 Everything’s Alright

Disc 3: Side 6

1 The Crown

2 Gold

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.