SORCHA RICHARDSON announces headline Belfast show at Limelight 2 on October 19th 2022

Sorcha Richardson

Sorcha Richardson has announced her new album Smiling Like an Idiot. It’ll feature this spring’s amazing single ‘Archie’ as well as the most recent one ‘Shark Eyes’.

Irish singer-songwriter Sorcha Richardson has been cultivating a fanbase for several years. Songs such as ‘Ruin Your Night’, ‘Honey’ and ‘Petrol Station’ are evocative vignettes of a moment in time which find the poetry in introspection. Her narrative songwriting connects with people who have shared similar tangled emotions. In November of 2019, Richardson released the biggest artistic statement of her career with her debut album, First Prize Bravery. The album won praise from The Irish Times, The Guardian, The Fader and Nylon, and was nominated for the RTE Choice Music Prize for Irish album of the year. It’s a collection of lyrical snapshots of life as a twenty-something, accompanied by the desires, doubts and developments that the decade delivers.

Sorcha celebrated the release of her debut album with a sold out Irish tour and a series of festival and headline shows in the UK and Europe in late 2019 and early 2020 including performances at Reeparbahn, Eurosonic NS and Mirrors Festival in London. More recently, she collaborated with Irish artists Denise Chaila, God Knows, MurRli and James Vincent McMorrow on ‘Out The Gaff,’ and in November 2020 released ‘The Starlight Lounge’, Sorcha’s first official single since her debut album, which she wrote and co-produced with James Vincent McMorrow.

Smiling Like an Idiot Tracklist:

1. Archie
2. Shark Eyes
3. Spotlight Television
4. Stalemate
5. Purgatory
6. 525
7. Good Intentions
8. Hard to Fake It
9. Holiday
10. Jackpot
11. Smiling Like an Idiot

Smiling Like an Idiot arrives on 23 September via Faction Records.

Sorcha Richardson 19 October 2022

Limelight 2, Belfast

Tickets are on sale Friday at 10 am from

Sorcha Richardson

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.