Soft Cell and Pet Shop Boys join forces for new single ‘Purple Zone’

Soft Cell and Pet Shop Boys join forces for new single 'Purple Zone' 1

Having closed 2021 with a critically acclaimed sold-out UK tour, Soft Cell today take another big step towards the May 6th release of their eagerly anticipated fifth studio album ‘*Happiness Not Included’ by sharing the new single ‘Purple Zone’, a new collaboration with Pet Shop Boys.

‘Purple Zone’ was one of five new songs that were performed throughout the tour, prompting fans to state, “Such a brilliant song, classic Soft Cell!”

Pet Shop Boys attended one of the tour’s London shows and immediately picked out ‘Purple Zone’ as one of their favourites from the evening. The two legends of electro-pop initially planned for Pet Shop Boys to remix the song, but their collaboration quickly mutated into a full collaboration. Not only is their collaboration a brand new single release, but this version has also been added to the ‘*Happiness Not Included’ tracklist.

‘Purple Zone’ is now a dream duet for synth-pop connoisseurs as Marc Almond’s ultra-expressive delivery intertwines with Neil Tennant’s wistful yearning, encapsulating the existential questions about the passing of time that are posed throughout the course of the album. Raising its tempo, Pet Shop Boys also added a hi-NRG sheen that elevates the track’s moody melancholy, Chris Lowe’s trademark high-drama synths producing a theatrical intensity.

Marc Almond says, “Working with the Pet Shop Boys was a pleasure, and this track is the perfect combination of us and them.”

Dave Ball comments, “‘Purple Zone’ is probably our finest pop moment since the early 1980s”

Pet Shop Boys add, “We are thrilled to collaborate with such an inspirational duo as Soft Cell on this gorgeous song.”

‘Purple Zone’ will also be released on CD and 12” formats, which are available to pre-order here. The CD also features Soft Cell’s take on the X-Ray Spex cult classic ‘The Day The World Turned Day-Glo’, and the Manhattan Clique remix of ‘Purple Zone’, while the 12” boasts a full selection of mixes by Pet Shop Boys.

Watch the video for ‘Purple Zone’ – BELOW:

Along with the recent single ‘Bruises On All My Illusions’ and the album title track ‘*Happiness Not Included’, ‘Purple Zone’ primes fans as to what to expect from Soft Cell’s first album in twenty years: a distinctive and striking balance between light and shade, hope and despair, the personal and the universal.

It’s been two decades since Soft Cell last released an album, but the influential synth-pop duo still provoke a huge amount of public fascination. News of ‘*Happiness Not Included’ sparked international attention from the likes of Brooklyn Vegan, Clash, Classic Pop, NME, Pitchfork and The Quietus – in the process igniting a platform for them to add to their previous achievements: 25 million sales, six UK top 10 singles and a BRIT Award. Their innovative cocktail of songcraft and future-facing production continues to cast an influence over the wider world of music, as most recently demonstrated by Jamie Jones’ remix of the era-defining smash ‘Tainted Love’.

‘Purple Zone’ single tracklists:


1. ‘Purple Zone’ (single version)

2. ‘Purple Zone’ (Pet Shop Boys extended mix)

3. ‘Purple Zone’ (Manhattan Clique remix)

4. ‘The Day The World Turned Day-Glo’

Soft Cell and Pet Shop Boys


A1. ‘Purple Zone’ (single version)

A2. ‘Purple Zone (Pet Shop Boys extended mix)

B1. ‘Purple Zone’ (Pet Shop Boys remix)

B2. ‘Purple Zone’ (Pet Shop Boys remix dub)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.