SIMPLY RED are back with a new album, ‘Blue Eyed Soul’ out November 8th

SIMPLY RED are back with a new album, ‘Blue Eyed Soul’ out November 8th

Simply Red are back with ‘Blue Eyed Soul’, a ten-track masterclass in funky, brassy soul music and emotionally charged ballads. It’s their first new studio album in four years and the 12th in their stellar career.

Lead track ‘Thinking of You’, which is available to download/stream now, will remind everyone why they first fell in love with the band, a horn fuelled swaggering tune that belongs on the dance floor featuring main man lead singer Mick Hucknall at his very best.

Recorded in London at British Grove Studios, all ten tracks were written by Mick Hucknall and produced by long-time collaborator Andy Wright.

He’s got blue eyes and a soulful voice, and it’s Hucknall’s remarkable voice that takes centre stage on this record. “I wanted to push my voice a little harder, challenge it a little bit, give myself something to really sing to.”

Listen to ‘Thinking of You’ - BELOW:

The results are simply sensational. Recorded as live, with few overdubs, ‘Blue Eyed Soul’ drew on inspiration from classic funk and soul: Isaac Hayes, Curtis Mayfield, James Brown, Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland and Tower of Power.

Simply Red has over a billion hits on YouTube, and have sold over 60 million albums since forming over thirty years ago. Holding back the years indeed.

“At this stage of my career, I could do one of those dark reflective albums looking back on my life and all that kind of stuff that people tend to do at a certain age,” Mick Hucknall admits. “But I thought sod that! I wanted to make something punchy. I want to have a good time.”

And that’s exactly what you get throughout ‘Blue Eyed Soul’, satisfaction guaranteed.

Blue Eyed Soul Tracklisting

1. Thinking of You

2. Sweet Child

3. Complete Love

4.Take a Good Look

5. Ring That Bell

6. BadBootz

7. Don't Do Down

8. Riding on a Train

9. Chula

10. Tonight

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.