SHE DREW THE GUN unveils Matt Helders remix of latest single ‘Behave Myself’

SHE DREW THE GUN unveils Matt Helders remix of latest single 'Behave Myself'

After releasing her latest single ‘Behave Myself’ to rapturous acclaim in recent weeks, Merseyside’s She Drew The Gun aka Louisa Roach has now returned to deliver an incredible remix of her latest effort, created by Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders.

While the original saw her pursue a bold and driven post-punk aesthetic, Matt Helders chooses to flip the track on its head and pursue a more stripped-back and electronic direction. Blending her distinctly penetrative vocals amongst a bed of sparse and pulsing electronics, this new rework brings a whole new view of her recent material, highlighting the song’s powerful lyrics as often as possible.

Speaking about the remix Matt said, “I am a big fan of the band and a big fan of Ross Orton, so I was excited to be asked to remix this tune. Lyrically the song is important so I tried to remix it with that in mind, I didn’t want to divert attention away from the message.”

‘Behave Myself’ follows on from the recently unveiled tracks ‘Cut Me Down’ (here) and ‘Class War (How Much)’ (here) in previewing her highly-anticipated new album ‘Behave Myself’, which is out on the 8th October 2021 via Submarine Cat Records, and was produced by Ross Orton, who has worked with Arctic Monkeys, The Kills, The Fall, M.I.A, Working Men’s Club, and countless others.

She Drew The Gun is touring the UK this autumn, starting on 6th October in Blackpool, with dates in Leeds, Glasgow, Reading, Bristol, Portsmouth, London, Leicester, Birmingham, Manchester, and ending in Liverpool on 22nd October.

Tickets are On Sale now HERE.

06 Oct – The Bootleg Social, Blackpool, UK
07 Oct – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds, UK
08 Oct – Cobalt Studios, Newcastle, UK
09 Oct – Drygate Brewing Co, Glasgow, UK
12 Oct – Sub 89, Reading, UK
13 Oct – The Fleece, Bristol, UK
14 Oct – The Wedgewood Rooms, Portsmouth, UK
15 Oct – Islington Assembly Hall, London, UK
19 Oct – O2 Academy 2, Leicester, UK
20 Oct – Mama Roux’s, Birmingham, UK
21 Oct – Gorilla, Manchester, UK
22 Oct – Invisible Wind Factory, Liverpool, UK

Under the moniker She Drew The Gun, songwriter Louisa Roach began by playing solo gigs around Liverpool, she quickly caught the attention of The Coral’s James Skelly who she began working with at Skeleton Key Records, recruiting band members along the way.

At first glance Roach’s fuzzy psych-pop may suggest that the Wirral born songwriter is another ‘Cosmic Scouser’ but then you’re drawn into the spirit of rebellion, songs that rally against injustice and food banks and celebrate outsiderdom. Roach was late to music, releasing her first LP ‘Memories Of Another Future’ after a decade of motherhood and studying at college.

The second LP Revolution of Mind, released in October 2018 continued the fine work laid out on her 2016 debut. Announced in the top 10 albums of 2018 by BBC6 Music, the record was one of the runaway indie successes of the year In 2019 the band completed a sold-out UK tour and played a string of UK festivals including celebrated performances at Glastonbury and Blue Dot as well as many others. In 2020 the band played virtual gigs to help raise money for Greenpeace and the Music Venue Trust among others and look forward to a proper return to live music.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.