Ride guitarist and songwriter Andy Bell announces EPs of remixes, covers and acoustic versions

Andy Bell

Ride guitarist and songwriter Andy Bell has announced a series of three EPs featuring remixes, acoustic versions and covers of songs that inspired his second solo album, Flicker, which was released on Sonic Cathedral to great acclaim back in February.

All three EPs will be released on limited-edition 10” vinyl on November 25 and are available to pre-order now.

The first of the three, I Am A Strange Loop, is out on all digital platforms now and features remixes by legendary DJs and producers David Holmes and Richard Norris, electronica polymath Maps, Hull shoegazers bdrmm, New York noiseniks A Place To Bury Strangers and Bristolian enigma Claude Cooper.

“It was so great to see what came back when I gave these tracks from Flicker to various comrades, friends and heroes to play with,” says Andy of the I Am A Strange Loop EP.

“David Holmes requested the opening track as he had formed a bit of a connection with it, and what he came up with turns the song from an introductory taster into an hallucinogenic beast.”

Watch the trippy video for David Holmes’ rework of ‘The Sky Without You’ by French director Jean de Oliveira BELOW:

He’s right; it’s the perfect soundtrack for mushroom season. Meanwhile, Maps turns ‘It Gets Easier’ into glacial electronic pop and quite simply one of the best things we have ever released; Richard Norris finds the “hitherto undiscovered sweet spot between ‘Roscoe’ and ‘Outdoor Miner’” (his words); bdrmm turn in a Weatherall-worthy wonder; A Place To Bury Strangers make an unholy noise (what else?) and Claude Cooper gets funky.

As Andy says, the songs now have “a new technicolour life”.

The digital release of the second EP, The Grounding Process, follows on November 4. It features acoustic versions of the Flicker tracks ‘Something Like Love’, ‘World Of Echo’, ‘She Calls The Tune’, ‘Lifeline’ and ‘Love Is The Frequency’.

The final part of the trilogy arrives in form of Untitled Film Stills, which is released on November 25 and features cover versions of songs that inspired Flicker by Yoko Ono (‘Listen, The Snow Is Falling’), The Kinks (‘The Way Love Used To Be’), Arthur Russell (‘Our Last Night Together’) and Pentangle (‘Light Flight’).

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.