PLASTIC ANIMALS to Release Debut Album ‘Pictures From the Blackout’

PLASTIC ANIMALS to Release Debut Album 'Pictures From the Blackout'

Plastic Animals spent two painstaking years perfecting their debut album, a collection of tracks flavoured with shoegaze and krautrock. Some of the longest and most impenetrable tracks on the record are amongst the album’s standout songs and serve as perfect examples of the band’s interpretation of their “atmospheric punk rock sludge”.

Drummer James and guitarist Ben are Scottish, bassist Dave is from Northern Ireland, keys player Jean Michael is French and vocalist Mario is Peruvian. The bands that the five have in common tend to appeal as much for the atmosphere they create as well as their sound. Yo La Tengo, Sonic Youth, Deerhunter, Radiohead, Grandaddy, My Bloody Valentine and Broadcast are all favourites. According to Mario “anything that sounds melancholic and comforting”.

With Mario’s background in film making it’s unsurprising that Plastic Animals like to mix their music with a visual aspect. Mario says, “I find it more interesting. I like putting together visuals for our gigs where possible using found footage. Sort of a-la Adam Curtis. That man can do no wrong.”

Pictures From the Balckout is released on February 8th 2016.

All songs PRS registered, written by Mario Cruzado.
Side A
1. Ghosts
2. Colophone
3. Sigh-Fi
4. Yellowcraig
Side B
1. Portal
2. Diane
3. Demmin
4. Burial Party
5. Holy Daze
Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.