MILLTOWN BROTHERS – to release new album & single


The Milltown Brothers are set to make their eagerly awaited return with the release of a new album on Stanley Records on the 31ST of July 2015.

‘Long Road’, their fourth studio record and the follow up to ‘Rubberband’, is a CD and a digital release. Recorded in Spain and the UK with producers Mark Jones and Mark Phythian (Coldplay), the new long player features eleven brand news tracks including the lead track ‘Hideaway’ and the eponymously titled album opener and first single ‘Long Road’.

Too many highlights to mention, the new album is without doubt their finest and most complete set of songs to date. From the opening bars of the infectious and aforementioned first single to the tender album closer ‘Alive’, the Milltown Brothers effortlessly combine contemporary English pop with the almost gentle melodies of Roger McGuinn and John Fogerty to great effect.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

01 Long Road
02 Part Of Me
03 Bad Un
04 Rockville
05 Portrait
06 Don’t Go Crying
07 Hideaway
08 Solitude
09 Boy Kisses The Girl
10 Perfume
11 Alive

Formed in Lancashire and still featuring the original line up of siblings Matt Nelson (Vocals / Guitar), and Simon Nelson (Guitar) together with James Fraser (Bass), Barney Williams (Organ / piano) and Nian Brindle (Drums), the Milltown brothers released their critically acclaimed album ‘Slinky’ in 1991. Their debut included the hits ‘Which Way Should I Jump’, ‘Here I Stand‘ and ‘Apple Green’ and went on to sell in excess of 100K copies worldwide. The single release of ‘Which Way Should I Jump’ went on to make the top ten in the US Billboard Alternative Rock Chart, as well as being a huge hit in the UK, Europe and Japan.

The band play the following Shiine On Weekender festival in November, additional dates to coincide with the album release will be announced soon.


(w/ Happy Mondays / Inspiral Carpets / Stereo MC’s and more)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.